Seitan!

The next recipe I really want to share with you is one that both me and Phyrra love!

Recipe By: Isa Chandra Moskowitz
Yield: 6 cups
Ingredients:
– 2 cups vital wheat gluten flour
– 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
– 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
– 1 cup cold water or vegetable broth
– 1/2 cup soy sauce
– 1 tablespoon tomato paste
– 1 tablespoon olive oil
– 2 cloves garlic, pressed or grated on
– 1 teaspoon lemon zest
– 12 cups water or vegetable broth
Directions:
1. In a large bowl, mix together vital wheat gluten flour, nutritional yeast, and all- purpose flour.
2. In a separate bowl, mix together the wet ingredients through the lemon zest.
3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and combine with a firm spatula. Knead the dough for about 5 minutes until spongy and elastic. Let the dough rest for a couple of minutes. In the meantime, stir together the ingredients for the broth in a large saucepot (do not boil the broth at this point).
4. Roll the dough into a log shape about 10 inches long and cut it into 6 pieces of roughly equal size. Place the pieces in the broth. It is important that the broth be very cold when you add the dough, which makes for a nicer texture and ensures that the seitan doesn’t fall apart. Partially cover the pot (leave a little space for steam to escape) and bring the broth to a boil.
5. When the broth has come to a boil, set the heat to low and gently simmer for an hour, turning the pieces every now and again.
6. Turn off the heat and let the broth and seitan cool for at least a 30 minutes. This will produce a firmer seitan. It is best to let everything cool completely before removing the seitan from the broth.
7. What you do next depends on the recipe you are using. If storing the seitan for later use, slice it into bite-size chunks, put it into a sealable container, and cover with broth. Seal the container and place it in the fridge for up to five days.
Notes:
In traditional seitan the wheat flour is washed and kneaded three times over two days in order to develop the wheat gluten. I speed things up in this recipe by using vital wheat gluten flour. The flavoring for this goes well with pretty much anything, but depending what you are using it for you can change the flavors a bit by adding finely chopped herbs. Or, if you’re making something Asian or Indian, some grated ginger would be nice. The first time I made seitan I used a recipe from the book Vegan Vittles. This recipe was inspired by that one, but has been modified over the years to make it even more awesome.
16 Responses to “Seitan!”

  1. Yay!
    We make big batches of it and cut it in various ways (strips or chunks), and then freeze it until we’re going to use it. You can substitute A1 or something else for soy sauce if you don’t like it or have soy allergies.

  2. I have to ask, because I don’t see a specification in the directions – should soy sauce be on the ingredients list twice?

  3. Neat! I hope it’s not too difficult to make. I’m definitely going to try it out.

  4. Thank you Grey! It sounds delicious.

  5. NOMZ. I like to take seitan, cut it in to strips, add smoked paprika and put it in a cookie tin smoker (got the idea from Jamie Oliver!) for seitan bacon. Best BLTs ever!

  6. I must try this since I love making doughs from scratch. I might make it into a roast and stuff it with veggies. Yum… 🙂

  7. Grey, did you receive the email message I sent you last week? I don’t mean to nag you :/ But what if you did not see it? Then I would regret not nagging, at least this one time. 🙂

  8. Oh nomnom, that sounds so delicious. Thank you for sharing! I’ll try it. :3

  9. Jules Noctambule April 26, 2011 at 8:58 am

    I like to poach it in a broth made from a vegan ‘chicken’-flavour broth concentrate with some soy sauce, herbs and garlic; everyone who has had it that way loves it and the consensus is that it tastes ‘like chicken, but more awesome’, as one omnivore friend put it. I also divide my dough into cutlet-style shapes before poaching since I find that they keep better if I don’t use them right away.

  10. This is great- I love seitan and it’s not always easy for me to find, so maybe I’ll try making my own!

    • And returning to this blog post to say I have now made my own seitan (from another of Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s recipes, this one from “Appetite for Reduction.” It uses a simpler broth, just veggie broth and soy sauce, and adds a little garlic and olive oil to the seitan itself). It was easy and came out great! I’m freezing the broth to use again.

  11. Thank you for sharing, we’ve been looking for a good seitan recipe. My boyfriend makes seitan buffalo “wings” with Frank’s Red Hot and earth balance, soooo good.

  12. Mmm, this sounds absolutely delicious! When I was little my mother made bbq seitan with paprika and Mexican seasonings. I’ve made it with Indian spices before, but never thought about tomato or lemon zest. I’m going to have to try this, it sounds positively mouthwatering!

  13. Mmmm, seitan. I’m continually borrowing cookbooks from the library and Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero have authored the only vegan cookbooks that I would readily add to my own collection.

  14. Hmmm… interesting. I have never tried seitan, not even as a full blown veggie. I haven’t been cooking proper food and want to break that habit, I should try this. It’s settled.

    Just wanted to let you know that I got the Inglot Cheery and Cherry giveaway stuff today and it’s so lovely. Thank you 🙂
    http://ruthsmakeup.blogspot.com/2011/04/free-stuff-gothiques-cheery-and-cherry.html

    x