Promise

One of the things people kept telling me to try after my failed review of Illamasqua was their blushes.  So being stubborn I didn’t just order a regular blush, I had to order a cream one.

Highlight your cheekbones, shape your face, and build and blend with fingers or a brush to create the color intensity you desire. Use over foundation for impact or under for a captivating glow. However you apply it, be daring.

Ordering one was no easy task.  For some reason they took it upon themselves to give the blushes some fairly tasteless names.  I realize that ‘Orgasm’ isn’t exactly the greatest name and I’m fairly certain that that blush sells as well as it does BECAUSE of the name, so it’s not surprising that marketing has picked up on that.

Each blush is $24 for . 14 ounces of product.  It comes in a nice irregularly shaped compact. The compact has a clear window top with the company symbol on it.  I sort of like that I can just peek in to see what shade it is, if I had more then one, that is.

It’s a nice amount of product.  The formula is very nice, it’s softly pigmented and blends out nicely.  It almost feels a little like a balm when you first apply it, especially if you’re using your fingers, it seems greasy, but it’s not.  It leaves almost a dewy finish so it looks like your cheeks have more of a natural flush, since it’s not matte or shimmery.  It sets so that it’s not left sticky or smearable, but you also have some time to work with it and blend it.  It wears remarkably well with no fading or migrating.  Although I have great luck applying it with my fingertips, I’ve been loving my cream blush brush I got from Sephora.  It really helps to work in the edges and make the blush look super natural.  This just happens to be the right perfect pink for me, too.

Conclusion

Would I purchase Illamasqua Cream Blush again? Yes.

  • I really like the consistency and they staying power.
  • This particular color is my new ‘go to’ pink for cheeks.
17 Responses to “Promise”

  1. Uhhh! *-* Looks gorgeous! I’m quite curious about illamasqua and I know they ship to Brazil, so I think I’ll order from them someday! The cream blushes have so many colors! I love cream blushes! 🙂

  2. Yay! I am glad you liked it. Their cream blush is nice, I am wearing Betray & I love it more than I thought I would. I also think I prefer their cream to their regular blushes which are pretty nice but not OMG Amazing! (IMO)

  3. Hahaha yeah the names are :S
    I have a powder blush called ‘lover’ not so bad.
    I’m usually scared of cream blush but that looks awesome I am so going to try it!

  4. I love the color!!! But I understand what ya mean by the names.. I don’t get why companies gives these products such risque names. Or even grotesque name.. Now if I am buying a vampire collection and one of the colors is bloodbath.. then ok I get it.. or a sexy/spicy set and ones called lust .. then again I get it.. I know it appeals to a younger audience, I guess I am getting old lol but I don’t want to go to basketball practice one day and one of the kids moms ask ” what is that called .. and I gotta belt out.. oh it’s orgasm or some other funky names..

    • I totally agree Christa! I don’t want to have to tell my mom some of those names, or my daughter when she’s older!

  5. A lot of the names are a put-off to me as well. Overall I really like Illamasqua’s look and branding though.

  6. Risque or dirty names are a real turn-off to me too.

  7. That blush looks amazing. DO WANT! 😀 Thanks for the review, Grey!

  8. I agree w/the names. Frankly, I find it irritating. I wanted to try some of Illamasqua’s cream blushes but Sephora doesn’t seem to carry the shades I’m interested in, for any of Illamasqua’s products.

  9. I still haven’t tried anything from Illamasqua! Lol 🙂
    They’re quite expensive in Europe and to be honest, I prefer to get something from Inglot since we have their store in Zagreb and since they’re cheaper and still high quality 🙂

    But I’m being tempted… don’t know how long I can resist 😀

    • Kryolan produces most of Illamasquas make-up for them and is quite a bit less expensive than Illamasqua. I love Kryolan.

      I tend to only ever buy Ilamasqua when it’s on sale! I love their nail colours paricularly and I have the cream blusher in Rude. I love it so much! x

  10. Illmasqua is way to expensive for me as well, but I like the look of libido! 😀

  11. That’s a lovely shade of pink! Haven’t tried anything from Illamasqua and very much agree with Vesna 🙂

    Our returning policies on cosmetics are quite strict so I’ve been hesitant to buy quite expensive products without seeing/swatching them first.

  12. Glittermuffin May 6, 2011 at 1:38 am

    Oh, I’m really digging the colours, although they’re pretty much out of my price range right now.

  13. Well, since I love “Messages from Water” by Masaharu Emoto, I will not be buying blushes that say betray, greed, hate, or any other negative name like that. It is a turn off for me.

  14. I like the names, as I can’t remember colour names or numbers for shades. I may be their target market if they were available in Canada.
    On the other hand, I do agree it’s a little embarrassing to tell people (depends on who) what shade/product you’re wearing if the name is risque.