Pretty Burlesque

This Look of the Day was inspired by burlesque. No, not Christina Aguleria (or however you spell it) Burlesque, not even Dita Von Tease. Original burlesque, 1930’s burlesque. And who better to inspire me than the legendary lady of tease, Gypsy Rose Lee. I used grey, black and golden brown to create a smokey, seductive eye but I kept the colors, and the liner, within the eye shape. First I applied Too Faced Shadow Insurance to my lids. Then I patted on Pearl 454 all over the lid. Next I used Butler Did It along the upper & lower lash lines and the curved the color up into the crease. After sufficient blending, I smudge Black Dog along the upper & lower lash lines as well, and then swept a little into the crease to create more of a shadow. I used Matte 352 as a highlight under my browbone. I finished the eyes off with black cream liner on the upper lash line and the crease and then packed on several layers of Smoky Lash. I kept the cheeks structured but neutral by patting on a dusty rose color cream blush and then added a little bronzer to the hollows of my cheeks. To complete the look, I used my amazing Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Intense #21 lipstick for a sizzling sparkly red pout!
Products Used

Face
• Clinique Even Better Foundation in Alabaster
• MAC Cosmetics Studio Finish Concealer in NW15
• Vichy Dermablend Setting Powder
• Pixi Duo Cheek Cream in Natural Rose
• ELF Studio Bronzer in Golden Bronze
Lips
• Wet N Wild Color Icon Lipliner in Chestnut
• Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Intense in #21
Eyes
• Too Faced Shadow Insurance
• Inglot Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Pearl 454 and Matte 352
• Morgana Cryptoria Eyeshadow in Butler Did It
• Urban Decay Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Black Dog
• ELF Cream Eyeliner in Black
• Make Up For Ever Smoky Lash Mascara in Black
17 Responses to “Pretty Burlesque”

  1. This look really makes your eyes pop! Really classic and pretty.

  2. Absolutely Stunning!

  3. Lovely! The eyes look softer and nicer than the usual Dita von Teese make-up.

  4. Love love love the eye look!

  5. Oooh that’s lovely! Nice job Erin! Pretty soft smoky eyes are sooo much more amazing than OTT smoky eyes 🙂

  6. I love this look! You look gorgeous. I’m going to be looking for that lipstick.

  7. Thanks all! I LOVE that lipstick. Check Sephora or online!

  8. Stunning look.

  9. That look SO suits you!

  10. You look gorgeous~
    Really make me wanna rock a red lip!

  11. Oh, that face! Gorgeous! ❤

  12. This look is amazing. And I especially love that you’re a fellow fair-skinned girl and can pull off the darker eye makeup. Usually when I attempt it, I look like I’ve been in a car accident.

  13. This is really lovely! It nice seeing a different take on burlesque make up. Dita is awesome, but she is not the only one.

  14. You are soooooooooo LOVELY!!!!! It looks great on you. xoxo!!!!!!

  15. WOW Erin!!! You are getting SO good! You could totally start doing makeup on the side if you built up a kit!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pretty Burlesque for Le Gothique | The Pretty Exclusive. - May 11, 2011

    […] on over to Gothique to see my complete “Pretty Burlesque” look inspired by Gypsy Rose […]