Aqua Liner

Someone convinced me I needed to try one of these.  Honestly, it didn’t take much to talk me into it.  Ok, so all she did was tell me they were nice and show me some swatches.  I beat a path to Sephora to grab one.  I’m glad I did, they were almost sold out.

Rich in polymers, this superior eyeliner offers an impeccable hold that guarantees water-, tear-, and smudge-proof color. Its ergonomic, foam-tip applicator is designed to resemble a makeup brush handle for the quickest, easiest, and most accurate application.

For best results, remember to shake Aqua Liner up and down before each use. Hold the cap like a brush and trace the line, starting from the middle of the eyelid and moving towards the outer corner of the eye. Finish by starting at the middle of the eyelid and working towards the inner corner, making the line thinner as you go along.

Pro tip: add a second line of eyeliner above the first. Either play up contrast by layering two bold colors or opt for a gentle touch by pairing two similar shades.

I swatched them all and in the end was torn.  To decide which one I got, I took the boxes and dropped them into a basket and pulled one randomly.  I didn’t even look until I got home.  I have #7, Diamond Black Purple (deep violet sheen).  It looks amazing with my golden brown eyes.

Each liner is 23$ for 0.058 oz of product.  It comes in a little tube with a felt tipped point to draw the product with.  What I appreciated about the packaging was the notation on the box to SHAKE it before use.  It seems like a simple thing, but I watched a video by a well known ‘guru’ who said a product was horrible basically because she didn’t know how to use it or store it.

I almost want to describe this stuff as liquid vinyl.  When you first apply it it’s very wet (duh) and workable, meaning if you smudge it, you can wipe it right off. Once it dries, that’s it.  It’s there and stuck on your skin for DAYS.  I put a swatch on the underside of my forearm and there it stayed… for two and a half days until I used actual eye makeup remover to get it off.

You really do need to shake it.  It’s not just a suggestion.  If you don’t the product is more running and a sheer black, the agitation mixes the pigment in it and the better shaken it is the more purple and shimmer you get.

My favorite way to wear this is on its own, like you would a black liner in a simple cat-eye look.  With such amazing shades, it makes sense to let them speak for themselves and not battle with a bunch of other colors.  Still, I specifically went out and got a purple smoky palette from Lancome to use with this.  The wand on this thing is also almost exactly like the Lacome Artliner wand.  I took it with me to the counter to compare, which is why I ended up with the purple shadows…

I’ve really loved using this and it’s fairly easy to get the hang of.  Just don’t blink until it’s dry or you’ll get it on your crease and then have to redo everything.  Ask me how I know.

Conclusion

Would I purchase a MUFE Art Liner again?  Yes, probably!

  • They come in a wide variety of colors, including neutrals.
  • They are easy to apply.
  • The product does not wear off…
13 Responses to “Aqua Liner”

  1. I saw a few similiar products (ArtDeco, Seventeen, some less known companies), swatched them, loved them… and came back home and washed my hands.
    Nothing.
    Washed them again. Nothing.
    Scrubbed them. Nothing.
    Used make-up remover. Nothing.
    Used all the oils I could find. Nothing.

    Even though I love how they look and their brushes, I wouldn’t want to expose my eyes to that kind of treatment.

    • I’ve had the same issues. I think that’s why I like this liner as much as I do, it melts right off with regular remover!

  2. This bugger DOES last for days! I swatched 4 shades on my hand and I can still see a hint of golden sparkle. And I wash my hands like I’m ill so it’s crazy how long it’s stayed!
    The only downside is the size. I paid $30 including taxes. I probably won’t do that again :s

  3. I meant to say that I swatched them Saturday… makes more sense when I put a time frame lol

  4. Uhhh *_* It looks gorgeous! This brand might come to the brazilian sephora (that will open next year) so I’m excited! hahah 🙂

  5. Yay! I seriously love them. The burgundy one is what inspired me to want to dye my hair burgundy (11). I love 7 as it matches my hair! 9 and 4 are fun, and 13 is classic black 🙂 Can’t go wrong!

  6. These are on my list of things to buy – just have to get to Sephora!

  7. Oh wow I need these, they sound amazing. I absolutely love the colour you ended up with.

  8. Oh gosh, I swatched all the aqua liners the other day at sephora. Seriously, next sale I am stocking up on these. I ended up walking away with the sparkly black, because um, it’s sparkly, and since it’s black it would go well with a lot of my eyeshadows. I reaallly like the way the two purple ones looked, as well. The bright red one reminded me of you, because of your red shadow and liner love 😀

  9. Ooo lovely!! I may have to pick one up!!

  10. WANT+NEED. Oh my goodness, so pretty. I have brown eyes and love purples and reds, these liners would be right up my alley.