Besos del Sol

What is it? It’s Besos del Sol, which means “kisses of sun”, and it’s a summery floral blend which is best described as the scent of sun-warmed skin.  Besos del Sol is a feminine and flirty scent. Creamy coconut and white gardenia star, supported by notes of white grapefruit, resinous amber, jasmine, a touch of deep, smoky vetivert, and a dash of bourbon vanilla.

Besos is a new scent from One Hand Washes the Other.  I’d had my eye on it, since it seemed like it was lining up to be another Bronze Goddess dupe (and I love Bronze Goddess).  Besos del Sol comes in a 5ml amber perfume bottle for 9$.

This, however, is a bit different.  Where as the original EL Bronze Goddess is a bit more soft and coconutty and the EE Bronze Goddess dupe is more creamy coconutty, Besos is heavy on the gardenia.  To be completely honest, it’s a little TOO floral for me.  I suppose I prefer a soft floral, like a rose or lily of the valley.  Gardenia is sharper then I’m used to.

After a while, it mellows into something pleasant and easier for me to wear.  I’ve worn it a few times now, and I still haven’t really gotten the coconut note.  I know it’s there, I can tell it’s there, but I can’t just pick it out.  I realize that’s sort of hard to understand, but this scent is such a lovely blend of things.

This is a wonderful compliment to EE’s Bronze Goddess, I love to wear the Besos perfume with the solid lotion on my dry spots.  The two scents blend together amazingly.

Have you tried Besos del Sol?  What do you think?

8 Responses to “Besos del Sol”

  1. I bought a sample vial of this and fully expected to hate it, since I really am not a fan of florals – but I adore OHWTO so I just wanted to try it anyway. Color me SHOCKED because I absolutely love it; I ordered a full bottle as soon as Becca put them up in the shop.

  2. I really like it too! The gardenia is a bit strong for me in the beginning. Strong scents tend to trigger headaches for me which I thought was going to be the case but it doesn’t and I am happy because I love it.

    I haven’t seen Bronze Goddess from EE, is it new?

  3. I haven’t tried it yet, but I really like EL Bronze Goddess when I tried it, so I think I would like to try Epically Epic’s! Is it a close dupe?

  4. I’ll have to pick this up. It sounds divine. I love OHWTO. I’m not quite sure how I’m going to make it through the move without being able to order things like Black Magic and Pastecerria at the drop of a hat.

  5. I wonder if there’s a batch variation. Mine is STRONG on the coconut, I don’t quite smell anything else. 2 hours down and it’s still coconut much!

    • It can’t be a batch variation yet; I’ve only made the one batch so far! A new one will be made, as I’ve run out of the maiden bottle, but all BdS perfumes out there were made from the same batch and all within 2 weeks or so of one another. Strange! I have been noticing though, that different people perceive the same scent very differently- one will pick out one note very strongly, and the other will mainly smell another, it’s a very interesting phenomenon. 🙂

      And, thank you Grey, for the lovely review! ❤ Glad to hear you're enjoying it, I love this scent so much more than I thought I would! ^__^