Heartsy Hints

Now that we’ve all had some time to check out Heartsy and it’s ‘ins and outs’, I’ve discovered a few things that I’m passing on to you.

☆ Check out Tomorrow’s Deals.  If you’re a VIP member, you can shop these the day before. If not, don’t worry, I’ve never seen them sell out.

☆ Is there anything in the shop you want?  Just because it’s a popular shop might not mean there is anything there for you.

☆ Are they products you can or will use (color wise, ingredient wise, etc etc)?  One popular shop uses stevia in it’s balms, meaning me and a lot of others cannot use them.

☆ What can you get for the voucher amount?  I’ve seen a few shops that have, for example, 30$ vouchers but that’s not even one item.

☆ CHECK OUT THE SHIPPING.  I’ve been burned more then once on this one.  While it LOOKS like you can afford to get a few nice things, the seller seems to have either jacked up the shipping or is just straight out overcharging. One voucher I got the other day was half wasted on shipping and you better BELIEVE that when that package gets here I’m going to check the shipping costs.

☆ Make sure the voucher COVERS shipping.  There have been a few shops that won’t cover shipping with the voucher.  That means that even though you spent UNDER the voucher amount, you may still owe for shipping.

☆ In every instance I’ve gone over the voucher amount, I’ve got an invoice.  In one case it was for .30$.  THIRTY CENTS.  So even with a Heartsy voucher you may need a Paypal account.

☆ Go over the shops policies and any announcements they might have regarding Heartsy.  Make sure they are treating Heartsy shoppers as PAYING customers and that they will ship your items in a timely manner.  Some might not allow special orders on vouchers.

☆ Double check the voucher’s expiration date.  While most are three months, some have been only 30 days.  While I tend to wait until the initial ‘Heartsy Rush’ to be over to be able to shop from ‘regular’ stock, that might not be possible with some shops offering vouchers.

11 Responses to “Heartsy Hints”

  1. I’ve been using Heartsy since March. One thing i’ve noticed is that some shops jack up their prices during a deal. This really puts me off, since , well….if you can’t afford to do a deal, you don’t HAVE to. Luckily, you absolutely CAN return vouchers to Heartsy within 30 days, with little to no questions asked.

    I’ve still got 3 vouchers to use that I’ve been sitting on for a month because I just can’t decide! But i;ve gotten so much amazing stuff (custom made makeup bags, awesome artwork, soaps galore). I’m hoping they keep branching out more to other non-etsy indie shops.

  2. I really enjoyed Heartsy the one instance that I’ve used it. It helped me get connected with a seller I otherwise would not have known about. Thanks for the tips!

    • I’ve really been enjoying it myself. It’s helped me afford to keep up with my indie reviews. I just really felt that because I supported it I needed to be honest about the pitfalls!

  3. Thank you so much for the link to LicketyCut, since then I have been on Heartsy and Etsy like mad. I just bought a very nice wooden bangle, I purchased several items from LicketyCut, and I will continue to purchase. I feel so much better giving my money to real people. And so far, I have only had very reasonable shipping, and exceptional deals, over half off for very good quality items. Thank you again for the tip to Heartsy. ^_^

  4. Thanks for these hints. I’ve only used Heartsy once and now I have things that I will look out for in the future.

  5. thanks for the advice! i’ve bought two vouchers so far and noticed a lot of things are sold out. i think one wont expire for 6 months, so i’m holding off on purchasing anything for a couple months. i am tempted though.. thanks for showing m heartsy! can’t wait to shop more! 😛

  6. Don’t just trust the listings for ingredient disclosure, either! I didn’t see stevia listed in the Ophelia’s Apothecary lip products (which were all I wanted), but contacted them to check anyway — sure enough, they’d snuck in some of that nastiness but didn’t bother to mention it in the listings. Now I have a Heartsy voucher I can’t use and will have to give away or try to get a refund.

  7. Don’t just trust the listings for ingredient disclosure, either! I didn’t see stevia listed in the Ophelia’s Apothecary lip products (which were all I wanted), but contacted them to check anyway — sure enough, they’d snuck in some of that nastiness but didn’t bother to mention it in the listings. Now I have a Heartsy voucher I can’t use and will have to give away or try to get a refund, which is disappointing.

  8. Thank you for a great article, however it needs to be updated. 🙂

    Pink Bow Bath Boutique sold out during VIP and never opened to non-vip sales. It does happen, but its rare so far.

    Also per Heartsy policy:
    Can Heartsy members use voucher credit on shipping?
    Yes. We require that all sellers allow Heartsy voucher credits to be applied towards shipping costs. However, this does not mean that shipping will always be covered by the seller. For instance, if the merchandise purchased is equal to or exceeds the voucher value, a separate invoice should be sent to the customer for the difference of the voucher value and the entire order amount (including all shipping costs).

    If a seller is not abiding by this rule, they need to be reported.

    • I purchased from Hi-Fi’s first Heartsy Sale and I was really disappointed I still had to pay $5 and some change in shipping, even if I stayed under my $35 limit. What should I do?

      • Contact Hi-Fi and ask them why. I know that it’s actually an issue with Artfire, it’s bugged so that no matter what it will invoice you for 5$. Veronica will fix it.