Hello Sakura

While the Hello Kitty line has been available at Sephora a while (and I have a ton of it to review yet), they just released Memoirs of a Kitty.  The new line features cherry blossoms, as done Hello Kitty style.  You may not know, but I’ve been collecting Helli Kitty things since I was… 8?  There were amazing Sanrio shops in the mall when I was in Honolulu.  I used to go nuts.  I am and probably always will be a ‘paper’ person who loves to collect fancy stationary, stickers, and pens.  Cross the cuteness of Kitty with my obsession with sakura and it’s the set up for something amazing.

This Hello Kitty compact contains two tiers of high-quality Hello Kitty products. The four eye shadows include shades ranging from soft rose to warm brown, colors that harmonize beautifully with the two powder blushes. The tiered compact comes in the shape of Hello Kitty and is adorned with the Memoirs of a Kitty cherry blossom print.

The Say Hello palette includes:
– Pearlized Pinky Beige 0.07 oz eyeshadow
– Pearlized Tan 0.07 oz eyeshadow
– Pearlized Honey 0.07 oz eyeshadow
– Sparkling Brown 0.07 oz eyeshadow
– Peach 0.16 oz powder blush
– Rose 0.16 oz powder blush

Sweet and effective, this Hello Kitty product contains powerful extracts of strawberry, apple, and grape seed to hydrate and soften skin. Packed with powerful antioxidants, these ingredients also fight free radicals and improve skin’s elasticity and youthfulness.

The palette is 35$ and a pretty good deal, IMO, for four shadows and two blushes that coordinate.  I also always consider the bonuses when shopping at Sephora online and getting samples and bonuses and even more so now because now I use eBates and get 4% cash back.  That counts as a sale, right?

The shadows are great.  Even though they are basically warm neutrals, the inclusion of the dark brown make it a great palette for a smokey eye as well as softer every day looks.  The blushes are very soft and lovely.  The peach shade is an awfully close match to Orgasm and the rose shade is actually a bit more… raspberry in person.  I completely adore the combination of colors in this.  They are all warm and rosy and work really well together.  I’ve been wearing it with Hello Kitty Big Smile Gloss in Sunkissed, which is a lovely complimentary golden brown.

The shadows are nicely pigmented and work great and last all day with a primer.  The blushes surprised me.  For some reason I expect blushes to be LESS pigmented and maybe sheer?  These were just as you see them, which I love since then they do double duty as pink shadows!  I used this palette three times this week and each time looked completely different, and I love that it’s turned out to actually be a great investment, not just a cute spur of the moment for of purchase.

Conclusion

Would I purchase more Hello Kitty cosmetics?  Yes.

Actually this is something I got AFTER collecting a bunch of other stuff.

On top of being VERY adorable, the product is actually really pigmented.

There is a wide range of looks you can make from this, especially if you use the blushes as shadows.

14 Responses to “Hello Sakura”

  1. Lovely! Hello Kitty and Sakura is a match made in HK heaven ❤

  2. That’s such a win! I love how gorgeous the colors are on skin. The compact looks great and I love the amount you get, seems pretty good.
    xoxxx

  3. eeep! The compacts lack of a face even though it is in the shape of a kitty face is really freaking me out hahaha

  4. Cute compact! 🙂 The colors look pretty ❤

  5. The colours look very wearable, and the compact is cute and functional.

  6. I’ve been staring at this… palette? set? since it came out and I think your review on in has confirmed it for me. I can’t wait to buy it when I’m off my no buy!

  7. Lovely like the colors and the small hello kity package, even am not into flowers

  8. I’ve always loved hello kitty things! I’ve always had h.k goods too.. ever since i can remember. i love the colors of the blush, sooo pretty! 🙂 gotta get me one!

  9. I keep thinking I should grab this because I love that honey shade. So cute!

  10. I want it just for the packaging.

  11. Not that I wouldn’t want it just for the packaging, but I actually love the colors, mos def on my buy list now…

  12. I’ve been lusting after this. It’s incredibly adorable and I love the shades in it.

  13. I love HK! I got most of the MAC collection, so when I saw this in Sephora, I ran in. I got all the twist up lippies, the big highlighter (white one), and the perfume. Love it!