Walk a Tight Line

I have no idea who this is.  None.  I just know that I keep coming back to this picture for several reasons.

I love her hair.  Adore it.  If I reblog a picture of hair on Tumblr, it’s because it’s this teal/aqua/blue/green shade.

Her eyes are amazing.  I know she’s probably wearing demi falsies, but I want to say she gets that thick lased wide-eyed look through tightlining.

What is ‘tightlining’?

Tightlinig is an eye lining technique where eyeliner is applied into the lash line and in the area where the eyelid becomes the eye. The trick to a perfect tightline is to darken the lash line without getting liner in the ‘wetline” where the eye membrane starts. The benefit is that it emphasizes the eyes without looking overly made up because it darkens the lash line. You can tightline on either the upper or lower lid or both and you can use eyeliner like you normally would along with your tightliner.

~ from The Beauty Blog

Tiffany does a great video on it, which actually prompted me to get the Laura Mercier cake and brush that she uses.

Laura Mercier Tightline Cake Eye Liner is an easy-to-use, cake eyeliner that delivers long-lasting color payoff. The smudge and transfer-resistant formula glides on the lash line smoothly and stays all day long. Perfect for on the go, pop out your favorite shade from its compact and place it in a three or six-well Custom Compact for a customized palette.

This product is dermatologist-tested, ophthalmologist-tested, and appropriate for contact lens wears. It has been allergy tested to minimize the risk of allergy and irritation.

It retails for 22$, the flat tightline brush is sold separately for 25$.  While the product itself is amazing, I really like the wear and formula, applying it from the cake with the brush is a little difficult because my eyes are not big enough.  Or maybe my eyes are fine and the brush is too wide?  I fussed around at Micheal’s and ended up finding a similar brush that was smaller that suited my eye.

You don’t need a cake liner, though!  For me, the EASIEST thing to use to tightline is my Tokidoki pen tipped liner!  It’s so easy to use, simple, and very precise.  It works best before the tip is rather rigid and not easily frayed like other liners.  It also dries very quickly, which is helpful.  Because my lashes on the bottom are, more often then not, blond I actually use a tint kit to dye them.  Once they are darkened, I use a little liners along the bottom, just on the outer edge, and my eyes look so feminine and soft and like I don’t have anything on.  Another must for this look is Clinique’s Bottom Lash Mascara.  The tiny wand will get all your lashes and still look un-made up.  I’m very into the ‘natural’ face makeup at the moment.

5 Responses to “Walk a Tight Line”

  1. Wow, that is a really gorgeous picture. I hope you one day find out who she is, so she’ll know so many people think she’s gorgeous.

  2. Love that picture too, I also like the clothes and accessorizes match, of course the hair, and the eyeliner, and the piersing looks fabulous too.

  3. I can defiantly see why you love this picture!

  4. Lovely! I need to try it with the tokidoki pen 😉

  5. I love that hair too! I’ve blue hair! also had it purple before and next week or so I want a tone between blue and green! I had it purple for 9 months, blue for 1 year, then changed it and now I’m back to blue http://sakuradesublog.blogspot.com/2011/07/new-hair-back-to-blue.html