Five Things

Five things you may not know about me…

5 – I’m a natural blond.

This actually freaks people out because my hair is always either blue/black/purple/ or pink.  While I’m not WHITE blond I’m a dark blond, it’s much lighter and more golden then I’ve been. However!  As of today, actually, I’m back to my natural shade with a splattering of lighter highlights.  I look… so different!

4 -I have a degree in art.

Usually when I say that people expect me to be able to draw.  Or paint.  I can do neither.  I do have a wicked color sense and incredible space perception, though.  I can match one shade to another months apart.

3 -I’ve lived all over the place.

I’ve lived in three different countries and five different states.

2 -I write.  A lot.

Not only do I write for work, but for a hobby.  My ‘job’ involves more editing then writing.  My hobbies include doing this little thing here as well as working with several writing partners on a massive collaborative/creative project.  I am sitting at my computer nearly 75% of my day and often put in 12 hour days.

1 – I’m going to be working with Lucky Magazine!

It was a real honor to be invited on-board.  I admit, I actually hesitated at first.  It includes quite a few changes I was reluctant to make but after talking it through… I could not pass it up!

What are five things we may not know about you?

45 Responses to “Five Things”

  1. 1 – I have a degree in Archaeology and a Postgraduate degree in Medieval Studies
    2 – I’m a massive geek but I also enjoy watching sports
    3 – My natural hair colour is a mid brown but I’ve not seen it for over a decade
    4 – I have 3 cats and am a crazy cat spinster in the making
    5 – I make jewellery and will be setting up an Etsy shop soon

  2. Congratulations on your new job! That sounds so exciting!

    5 – My natural hair color is a dark auburn, almost mahogany.

    When I have it this color, people are convinced I dyed it. Especially in the summer, when the sun slowly lightens it to an almost red. Black is not the only color Asian hair comes in (also, I’m a hapa)! I do dye it a darker shade of brown, because I don’t feel like the dark red compliments my complexion at all.

    4 – I’m the Music Director of my church and I lead the choir.

    Friends know not to keep me out too late on a Saturday night, or I wind up paying for it when I wake up at the crack of dawn every single Sunday. I’ve been singing in church for as long as I can remember. Recently, BOTH of our piano players called in sick, so I had to take over. I was so. freaked. out. about it, because I almost never play the piano in public anymore (even though I used to play in blues recitals all the time at 9 and 10 years old). I had so much fun doing it, that now I offer!

    3 – I’ve also lived all over the place!
    4 different countries and one state. Born and raised in that state :).

    2 – I have a photographic memory. I can recall things to the smallest details, describe scenes in movies to a T and sketch the face of someone I met just once.

    1 – I’m secretly (well, not anymore, haha!) addicted to the Young and the Restless. I’ve been watching it since I was five. When I was younger, I’d have to set up the VCR for my Mom since the show was on at 11am. I’d come home, watch the episode while I did my homework and then rewind it back for my Mom.

  3. 5 – I’ve been a massive geek since childhood. I’ve always enjoyed video games and reading, but also building computers from scratch and reading about theoretical physics have been interests/hobbies since I was a child.

    4 – I didn’t really think chocolate was all that until I was like… fifteen. And even to this day, I mostly prefer semi-bitter chocolate with a huge glass milk on the side. Even though I eat mostly milk chocolate.

    3 – My favourite color is actually green, though I tend to wear more purples and blues.

    2 – I’ve had nearly 100 pets, because when I worked with Animal Rescue I took the ones no one wanted with me home.

    1 – I used to play football, the American kind. I had to quit because girls can’t play on the countries representative team, and everything got very competetive when I turned 16.

  4. 1. I have a bachelors in art (hooray for art degrees!) My focus was in textiles. That’s right. I majored in weaving. I’m currently working on a masters in art therapy.

    2. I know a little more than a thing or two about traditional mountain crafts. It’s kind of funny, because I have no appalachian roots whatsoever, which leads to..

    3. My ethnic backround: I’m Cuban, Jewish (my grandfather’s family emigrated from the Austro-Hungarian empire, so I’m not sure which country exactly they were from), Irish, and Syrian. Fraction-wise, I’m mostly Cuban. Whenever I share this information with anyone, I always get the “I can’t believe it, you don’t look it!” response. I’m very pale, though there’s an entire spectrum if different skin tones in my family.

    4. I love mythology. I took a class back when I was an undergrad and I’ve been hooked since. I’ve read up on myths and folklore from practically all over the world.

    5. My go-to dessert is usually pie. Always from scratch. Usually it’s some sort of custard variant, but I’m always looking for different old-timey recipes to try.

  5. I’m always entertained by things like this–I love hearing strange little things about people that may not be readily apparent. I, on the other hand, have no idea what people may not know since I’m one of those people who forgets what took place in conversation vs. what I know in my head.

    1–I haven’t eaten meat for the better part of my life. My parents had to bribe me to eat it as a kid and once I developed sentient thought they couldn’t even do that.
    2–I’m willing to bet the only people who know my actual age are my parents. Everyone else either over-estimates or under-estimates by about 6 years.
    3–I spoke Polish as a kid. Hardly understand a word now, but as a 5-year-old English was a second language.
    4–I love highschool dramas. Maybe because I never went to highschool in a traditional sense, so I live vicariously through incredibly glamorous TV characters.

  6. 1. I have about 70% gray hair, and the only color my hair wants to be is dark brown with possibly some red highlights. None of the other colors work for my skin or stay in my hair. The color will lift in a week. So, brunette I am.
    2. I work in I.T. supporting Infrastructure. I love what I do. Sometimes, in a moment of low self-confidence, when I think about all the things I do to keep a place up and running and everything I’ve learned, it scares me and I wonder how I was able to learn all of it. I don’t know that I would have had the confidence to pick this field if I had known what I would do this far in the future — I might have doubted myself. So, I’m glad I didn’t know!
    3. I would love to be able to write sci-fi, young adult or something entertaining to give back because I love to read. It is one of my favorite things to do. My husband and I read before bed every single night. Of course, I have been so focused in I.T. for so many years that I am not sure I would know how to write. I used to be good at it in high school, but that was so long ago.
    4. I am a huge advocate for alternative health remedies — whether they be herbs, energy healing, alternative spirituality, etc. I like exploring other options for maintaining health, and this has been important to me for many many years.
    5. Even though I am a technical person and probably seem somewhat reserved and boring, I am super attracted to themes of transformation, growth, creativity, evolution. I love What Not To Wear, How Do I Look, So You Think You Can Dance, The Voice, Project Runway. I don’t really feel creative, but I am so drawn to it in others. Maybe one day…

    • I feel your pain. I’ve been going grey since I was 17. 10 years on and most of the front of my head and vast chunks of the rest are grey. Thankfully the red dye I use covers them

  7. I really want to know the other two countries you lived in. =P Also – I am at my computer most of the day as well, can I inquire what your computer chair model is and if you’re happy with it? I’m on the hunt for a new one and I want it to be something that I can sit in comfortably for hours.
    Congratulations on Lucky Magazine! That is so exciting! I can’t stop using exclamation points!

    Geez, I don’t know if there is anything I haven’t shouted to the Internet at one point or another..and I only have one fun fact:

    1) I sat here for hours getting distracted and over thinking this meme. =P

  8. Congrats on your new job! That’s so amazing. Lucky has been my all time favorite fashion/beauty magazine since it came out. I remember thinking FINALLY….a magazine that doesn’t insult my intelligence with bad sex and relationship advice, and sticks to why I even buy magazines…FOR THE GOODS. I’ve been subscribing since it came out and i will probably continue to forever. And onto the 5 things…

    1) I was hardcore militant straight edge until my early twenties. One of my siblings is a recovering heroin addict, and it truly scared me straight. It took a good while to realize that you can drink and not be a full on alcoholic. My namesake however, was given to me simply because of my drink of choice, and my ability to put down a lot of it, and still be sane.

    2) Dancing was my first love. Especially tap! My mother never let me take martial arts lessons like I wanted…and she thought tap was a sound alternative…? No matter. I loved it to death and was really good at it until we could no longer afford to go to dancing school, and then i got a bum knee later on.

    3) I’m a HUGE fan of Classic Musicals to the point of insane nerdiness. I used to rent a new one every week and learn all the songs when I was a kid all the way up to my teens. I’ve never had a single singing lesson in my life, but I’m fairly certain I learned to sing entirely from imitating musicals.

    4) I used to speak German pretty well, even though I am not German at all. But i never get to use it so it’s considerably worse now. Even so, Berlin is my favorite city.

    5) I had a breast reduction when i was 20. Best decision I ever made in my life.

  9. 1. I’m a total mutt! I’m Cherokee, British (these both from my mother’s side, which is from the south), Venezuelan, Dutch, German, Chinese, and Basque, with probably a little bit African thrown in from my South American heritage (seriously, it’s kind of hard to not be at least bi-racial down there).
    2. As a child, I was taught English and Spanish concurrently, but I’ve always been better with English. I don’t know why, but Spanish never quite stuck in my mind as well. Granted, in my Spanish class this past school year (stupid college prerequisites), I was basically the teacher’s pet because I already knew a lot (almost everyone else in the class had really never spoken the language…everyone else saying “anos” instead of “años” was potty-humor funny but also kind of sad) and I got an A for both semesters, but it was just Spanish 1 (all over again) so Spanish 2 next year will probably be harder.
    3. A sort of tie-in to the above two: In elementary and middle school, I was really insecure about how “white” I am. Until 2007 (and from April 2010 to about two weeks ago), I had blonde hair, and to this day I’m very pale, with freckles on my face and blue-green eyes. Unlike a lot of my former peers and friends, I did not have black/brown hair, brown eyes, or darker skin, and I didn’t usually speak with my parents in Spanish. My butt was smaller than everyone else’s (uh, most of my fat goes to my hips and chest…) and I didn’t (and don’t) like spicy food, elotes, enchiladas, Luca, etc. Shamefully, I responded to this by subconsciously adopting some, uh, “not-white” mannerisms. Those mannerisms have now mostly been transferred to an alter-ego, though (in case you’re wondering, her name is Sheniqua, and a while ago I tacked on the surname Andry).
    4. Oh, my God, I write too much. My dream job is to be a fashion model. The thing is, I am not model material. At all. Any other job I can possibly think of based on my interests–makeup artist, biologist, photomanipulator, writer, designer, artist, photographer, sex educator, comedian, activist (is there such a thing as a professional feminist?)–none of it appeals to me as a main career as much as modeling does. Ever since the realization sank in that I could never model, I’ve just been kind of lost, terrified of my future after high school and college, and I don’t know what I’m going to do with my life. (If anyone wants a copy editor, though, I’m aways available if you have extra cash lying around. Holla at your grammar tyrant.)
    5. Although I’m very opinionated, one of the attributes that I’m proudest of is my open-mindedness. I am almost always open to hearing other opinions on issues, and I love to read arguments, debates, back-and-forths on philosophies, ideas, theories, and hypotheses. The pitfall of this is that I often have moral dilemmas (what’s the proper Latin/Greek plural of “dilemma?”). …So maybe I’m just gullible/naïve.

    Bonus fact: I really like talking about myself. Hi, I’m Narcissus, and I don’t care what your name is.

  10. Congrats on the lucky zine grey!! Are you going to be telling us when your arcticle will be published?

  11. That’s amazing about the new job at Lucky! Can’t wait to see what you write/do! 🙂
    Uh, Five things…

    5. I was an artist. I lost my drive and inspiration but I hope to get back into painting soon.
    4. I’ve never been to California.
    3. My brother is a director.
    2. I wakeboard (though not as much as I’d like to since I don’t live by a lake any more… or own a boat).
    1. I HATE ladybugs. One bit me once, I swear it. And every since, I freak out when they land on me. Irrational fear, yes, but I have it. 😄

  12. Hey Grey, have there ever been any photos of you here on your blog? I’d love to see your natural/unnatural hair colours xD

    1 – I’m a complete theatre geek, both viewing and performing. This always strikes people as unlikely, as I’m obscenely academic, and don’t really seem the theatrical sort at all

    2 – My favourite colour to wear is red, but I only own two red shirts in my entire wardrobe

    3 – I hoard stationery. Paperchase is like heaven, to me. I will go all the way up to London just to enjoy the 3-story Paperchase on Tottenham Court Road

    4 – I met my first boyfriend at a work experience placement – he was my supervisor

    5 – I’m a stereotypical goodie two-shoes, but I can’t wait until the day when I turn 18 and will be allowed to pierce my lip, stretch my ear, and dye my hair green!

  13. These things are so fun, I love reading about other people & it takes my mind off of my upcoming surgery (my first so im terrified).

    1. I have never been on an airplane or seen the ocean. Hello living in the middle of the country (Kansas).

    2. I have a totally irrational fear of moths. I will jump up and run if one comes near me.

    3. I have a pet corn snake that is 25 years old. They usually only live to be around 15 years old but she is as healthy as can be and the sweetest thing in the world.

    4. My fiance is a tattoo artist and he has done all of my work except for one. Before we knew each other I went to a shop for my first tattoo & they totally butchered my memorial piece for my grandma.

    5. I found my first grey hair when I was 13 & its been downhill from there. If I didnt color my hair it would probably be fully grey.

  14. Well congratulations! I think that’s an excellent fit. Good luck at Lucky!

    I love reading random bits about people. It’s fascinating. As for me I’ll try not to bore you too badly:

    -I don’t have a degree, except for a high school diploma. I tried college once for about 5 minutes. Eight AM simply came too early for me. So now I just read voraciously and study on my own. It was never the learning part that got me, just the hours in which school operated.

    -I have five tattoos and 5 piercings. I used to have 9 piercings, but I had to take them out when I had surgery and 4 of them closed up. I’m still trying to find time to have my tragus’ redone. One of my tats is a matching one with my best friend “JF+DA”, which is a memorial to the love of Justine Frischmann from Elastica and Damon Albarn from Blur. It’s an in joke made permanent and I love it.

    -I got a new ACL about two years ago. I tore it dancing to Underworld ‘Cowgirl’ at a friends birthday party. I call it my zombie knee and I’m convinced it will allow me to walk among the zombies during the sure to happen zombieapocalypse.

    -I have super curly jet black hair. The black is natural, though it’s been red, green, blue, purple, and pink as well. I’ve only recently come to embrace my curls after years of straightening and I’m kicking myself for not letting them flow freely sooner. They ringlet naturally which is kind of awesome.

    -I am obsessed with someday going to Chicago. Have been ever since I was a child. I was once 100 miles from it but my BF at the time refused to drive a bit extra for me to finally visit. No matter. Chicago is still there. The BF is not. 🙂

    • If you like school, they now offer a ton of online courses so there’s no early morning wakeup, drive to school and sleep through the lecture. I’m currently persuing my degree by taking mostly online classes and really enjoy taking my classes in my p.j.’s.

      Sometime’s breaking up with a BF is the best thing that could ever happen to you! I’ve broken up with a few of them and have been much better off without them!

      • I’ve actually been thinking of going to school online. I’ve discovered in the past 7 months a love for writing and researching. I’m thinking investigative journalism. My first love is actually acting, but I don’t think I’d be too successful at it online. 😉

        • I know that they do have speach classes online where you film your speach and upload it so maybe they have an interactive kind of thing like that for acting. Something like you get your directions, monologue, and upload the whole bit and receive feedback. Or there are a ton of writing courses that you can take online to help you with persuing a career in the journalism field. And if you love to act, what about community theater?

  15. This sounds like fun, I kind of adore memes.

    1. I am very good at most handmade/craft-type ventures that I’ve tried (beading, sewing, crochet, knitting, etc), and yet, I have no creative ability to work with them. I can follow a pattern and turn out a perfect product, yet cannot seem to make my own patterns, and develop unique products.

    2. I sometimes wonder if I’m going to be able to actually do anything with my expensive college degree, because right now, it’s looking like retail and food service are my only options. And I also have no idea what I want to do with my life.

    3. I very rarely pay full price for anything. I’m a bargain shopper at the core, but the result is that sometimes I will buy things I’m iffy on, or not totally in love with, just because they are a good deal.

    4. Based on the scores I’ve received on papers and such over the past 4 years in college, I’ve come to understand that I’m rather adept at academic writing, and should probably seek a career of that nature, but I don’t actually enjoy writing.

    5. I have no desire to enter a romantic relationship now, or anytime in the near future.

  16. I have to say I AM surprised you’re a natural blond! My world. All a-shambles now. 😉

    I think I should have gone to an art school or gotten an art degree instead. But I was young and stupid so…oh well.

    Congratulations on working with Lucky! That sounds like some potential fun in a rub your hands together and laugh maniacally sort of way. I think you *should* work for a mag. I quit subscribing to them because they just made me want stuff and then I started reading your blog and you make. me. want. stuff. so you’re obviously qualified! Heh.

    1. I was a business management major for two years. Finished with an English/Communications degree. It was accounting that made me change my mind – hated that class!

    2. I have emetophobia and as stupid as it seems, it is a bit debilitating. Like, panic attack debilitating.

    3. My hair used to be light blond but has gradually gotten darker every year until I’m almost brunette. It’s strange and my eyebrows disapprove (they are still quite light).

    4. I like contrast. I drive a beat up old truck and I like dressing cutesy girly when I drive it. So if someone expects an old farmer and out hops a girl in lots of pink with dolly curls..ha ha! It’s funny. 🙂

    5. I have a deaf dog. She wasn’t always deaf but she’s learned hand signals quite well. Though…seriously…try to get a deaf dog’s attention. Good luck. Jump around, wave your arms, make your neighbors question your sanity.

  17. My natural hair color is so dark everyone mistakes it for black, but it’s really a deep brown with hints of red.

    I have a degree in Anthropology.

    I sing, play bassoon and mallot percussion.

    I’m Jewish.

    I didn’t fully embrace my girly side until about 3 or 4 years ago.

    I’m so happy for you with your new job 🙂 *hug*

  18. Congratulations on the job!

    I can’t think about 5 new facts about myself at the moment, but I’ll cheat and link to a 10 things meme I took forever to do and complete. 😉
    http://mousewings.tumblr.com/post/6309579909/tag-youre-it-here-are-the-rules-each-tagged

  19. 5. The only time in my life when I could whistle was when I’d lost both of my top front teeth. Other than that, I’m not able to whistle.

    4. Fortunately, to make up for the whistling deficiency, I can dislocate both of my shoulders at will.

    3. I married a guy who has never smoked a cigarette, and who didn’t drink until he was 21. He’s a fantastic dude!

    2. I’ve never seen Jaws.

    1. HUGE nerd. I wrote my Master’s thesis on The Martian Chronicles.

  20. 5. I can’t snap my fingers or whistle.

    4. I live with a house ghost. His name is George. We don’t know who he is, or when he lived or if he even lived in our house. Our house sits on an old horse farm, but the house itself is a ranch home built in 1970. George is a mostly playful, helpful ghost though he does have his prankster side. We consider him a member of our family.

    3. I once wanted to be a high school history teacher. Luckily, my father talked me out of that career path.

    2. My first celebrity crush was on Egon Spengler (Harold Ramis) in Ghostbusters.

    1. I tend to be very attracted to shortish, light haired, somewhat chubby guys in glasses – my “type” if you will. The wonderfully talented, fantastically handsome and amazing man I married is not short, light haired nor somewhat chubby, yet he is perfect.

  21. Congrats on your new job! That sounds great! ❤

    Here's my 5 things:

    5 – I'm a natural dark blond too! 😀 But I've been coloring my hair since I was 15 and I haven't seen my natural color since then.

    4 – I lived in Sweden for a few years when I was a kid and usually people got me mistaken for a Swedish girl (cause of the hair color!). I don't speak Swedish anymore, though BUT I'm going to take a course very soon to remind myself! I love that language!

    3 – I'm studying economics, 3 exams from getting my degree but it seems like it's never going to end. 😀

    2 – For years I've been in a sci-fi organization which hosted a sci-fi convention in my hometown but it took me years to start reading such books! Currently I'm all over Miles Vorkosigan saga and I love it! Also, I liked the Dune ❤

    Hmm, I have only 4 lol 😀

  22. OK. I want to contribute properly so I’m just going with the first five things that come to mind.

    1) I made a hair stylist cry because I insisted on cutting and dyeing my hair – which at the time was about natural-waist length and its natural golden-brown color.

    2) I woke up during a catheter procedure when I was 8 or 9.

    3) When I was in fifth grade I used to pray that I’d wake up a vampire

    4) When I was 12 I was simultaneously reading “The Rats of NIMH” (Robert C. O’Brein) and “IT” by Stephen King

    5) In freshman year of high school I used to sign my classroom worksheets with “Mrs. Gary Oldman” Most of my teachers got used it and just ignored it, as they knew pretty quickly who to pass the paper back to.

    I did it! In under 5 minutes! *cheers*

    • You are my new favorite person. It was the Mrs. Gary Oldman thing that tipped the scales.

    • Weird coincidence, I woke up during an endoscopy when I was that same age. I wonder if they just don’t give children enough anesthesia, in fear of giving them too much? Either way, waking up while I had a camera in a tube stuck down my throat is one of the most frightening things that has ever happened to me.

  23. Congratulations on the new job!!!

    1. My natural hair is yellow …i guess you could call it blonde but it is yellow.

    2. I have never dyed it fully black..it has been red,green,blue orange..with black pieces but never fully black…im scared.

    3. I live and work with my fiance. We are together for nearly 24 hours a day.

    4. I am a dog person …i love big sloppy dogs who think they are little lap dogs…so how did I end up with 4 cats?

    5. Octopi ? Scare the crap out of me…all leggy and slimey..beaky mysterious sucky things…ew.

  24. I feel like I’m too new around here for 5 new things to be interesting, so I will just say congratulations on the magazine job! So exciting!

  25. 5. I’m Mexican/Filipino, although I take after my father. Most people just assume I’m full Mexican. My sister looks more mixed than I do.

    4. I am currently working as a nanny which is something I never saw myself as. I’ve always been good with children but I’ve never wanted any of my own so I guess in a bizarre way it all works out!

    3. I was two semesters shy of a degree in Asian American Studies when I had a break down and was diagnosed with Bipolar Type II. I had to go home to recover and I’ve never been back to school since. Most days I’m okay with that.

    2. I woke up one morning and realized I hadn’t seen my real hair color in over ten years. For the past two years now, I’ve been growing it out and keeping it au naturel, mostly out of morbid curiosity. At first it was just growing out the color and now its become wanting to see how long I can get it before it drives me insane. As a child, it was thigh length. I doubt I’d make it that far now.

    1. I love horror movies, horror books. I am a horror movie junkie. Given a choice I will always pick the horror genre, which is why I’m no longer allowed to choose movies on movie night. Once on Netflix, I had watched every single movie in the horror category that shows up on the screen. Movies that I had watched elsewhere first so I couldn’t even blame Netflix for providing them in the first place.

  26. Congrats on the new job, lady!! 😀 That’s awesome news! I don’t read Lucky mag right now, but I might just have to start 😉

  27. 1. I have really small hands – I can’t even span an octave on the piano. People who meet me for the first time always make remarks about them. I crack my knuckles all the time, so at least my ring size is average 😛

    2. I’m not a vegetarian by any means, but I don’t really like meat. More often than not, I’ll choose meatless food options.

    3. I hate labels. I have issues with placing myself in specific categories, for example with my race – my mother is from Hong Kong and my dad is from Singapore, but I hesitate to call myself Chinese because as soon as I say I am, someone ignorant will ask me if I’ve ever been to China. (I have not. I’d like to visit one day, but that has nothing to do with my cultural background). I’ve never been to Hong Kong either, and while I love Singaporean culture, I don’t feel right identifying as part of it. I also once got into a fight with a friend over my sexual orientation and my complete unwillingness to identify as either gay, straight, or bi. Why can’t I just be me, without needing to scream at people, “THESE ARE THINGS THAT DEFINE ME, AS QUALIFIED BY OTHERS?” ugh.

    4. I am allergic to mosquito bites. They swell up to five times their size and get all lumpy and weird. I just got bitten three times on my arms, and my back really itches so I should probably go bathe myself in cortisone cream after i finish typing this.

    5. I was right, my back is a splotchy disgusting mess.That’s not my fifth fact. Umm…I have a huge fear of “eyeball violence” in movies/TV shows (That pencil scene in The Dark Knight? I needed to be told about it beforehand so I wouldn’t freak out in the movie theater). I frequently have nightmares about sharp objects being driven into my eyes, or of them being violently removed from their sockets. I can’t believe I was able to type that out. aughghswgalbwgvahegsbslf

  28. umm. five things about me..
    5. I like to books series, Charlaine Harris, Jim Butcher, Patricia Briggs, L.A. Banks, Janet Evanovich and of course, J.K Rowling. the books that I like to read is more like “brain candy”, if it is really serious and deep thinking, I run far, far away. I read to entertain myself not to wax poetic.
    4. I have enough Chuck Taylors that I’m able to go at least three weeks and not wear the same pair twice.
    3. I’m 35, married for almost 13 years and don’t have children and I’m really OK with it. I hang out with friends who do have kids and they seem so miserable.
    2. I like to do this thing I call “faux shopping”. I get on a website and put everything and anything that catches my eye goes in my shopping cart but I hardly ever actually purchase whatever it is. It just gets my shopping ya ya’s out.
    1. I like my cats more than I like most people. They’re really honest, if they like you, they let you know by wanting to hang with you and when they’re done with you, they go and sleep on your bed and wait for you. they’re awesome

  29. Congrats on the magazine!
    1. I have horses and I can’t imagine life without them. Although I barely get time to ride, it’s my favorite thing to do.
    2. I suck at change. Normal life transitions scare the crap outta me. It’s a good thing I’ve never moved. But, then again, moving out will probably just suck more (I still live with Momma and Daddy.)
    3. No one else in my family really cares about make up and I did’nt either untill last winter. I had bad acne going through school, so make up was just a way to cover up my spots. Now, though, I love creating “looks” and experimenting with what enhances me, not what covers me up!
    4. I have what one friend calls an “old soul.” I had trouble relating to other teen girls in school, but I’ve always been able to chat up a storm with younger kids and people who are older than me.
    5. I am an “Appalachain American” at heart, I may be listening to RiaseAgainst tonight, but tomorrow I’m going to a Bluegrass festival!

  30. Congratulations on the job with Lucky! I look forward to hearing more about it.

    My five things:

    1) I love thunderstorms (if I’m inside!). I get really disappointed if the forecast calls for lightening and thunder but it never comes.

    2) I’m certified to use chainsaws and drive forklifts. I used to work for Manitoba Conservation’s forest fire-fighter program in the summer, in one of the warehouses. I was trained on using chainsaws, running pumps, and driving forklifts. It was an interesting summer job, I got to see some interesting things (like flying in a helicopter over forest fires).

    3) I find it hard to deal with time off. I’m a teacher, so I get two months off in summer. I love it – for the first week or two. Then I feel very odd and fidgety, like I should be doing something! I used to work two or three jobs at a time when I had summer break in university, so this is odd to me. I’ve been off for a week now, I’ll probably head back into the class to start prepping next week. Of course, this is only my second summer off, so I’m sure I’ll get used to this.

    4) I do not do well with heat or humidity. I grew up in northern Canada, in a place with a temperature range from -40/-50C to 30C, with little humidity. I know how to deal when it’s -45C with the windchill, but put me in 35C with high humidity, and I stop functioning.

    5) I’m a board member on my local YWCA. I got involved two years ago, a family friend who was a past president asked me if I’d be interested, because the YWCA was looking to increase the percentage of young women on their board (I’m 26). I am so glad I did, it’s made me more confident and more connected in my community. The YWCAs across Canada, the US, the world do so much amazing work, and I encourage you to get involved with your local member association!

  31. 1) I’ve been reading this blog for a while now (at least a year) but this is the first time I’ve commented.
    2) I love experimenting with make-up and learning tricks, but I rarely actually wear make-up.
    3) I’m going to start my senior year in high school and I’ve never had a boyfriend, a first date or a first kiss yet.
    4) I have no idea about my future at this point.
    5) Sometimes I still wish I was born a princess. (It would have to be a stable country without fear of any coups though)