Glossaholic

Whoa, I like this lip gloss.  It’s like flakies for your lips.

I wish I was someone who can just write reviews like that, but I’m not.  But now the plot is blown so I understand if you don’t want to continue reading, I’m going to continue writing.

Glossaholic lip gloss is a creation from the folks at Hard Candy.  Given that their products are so hit or miss, anytime you get anything from them you swing and take a chance.  It just so happens that this is the second product I’ve tried from them this week and the other one was actually really nice as well.  Moving on…

SUPER HUGE MEGA WATT LIPS One dip covers your lips! Ginormous applicator with gloss cup deposits gloss to your whole mouth in one swipe! These super lustrous lip glosses are infused with prisms of color that make lips appear fuller and plumper. Out of this world hyper-reflective prisms of pearl make lips sparkle like crazy! Feeling tired or wired? Two Glossaholic sparkling clear top coats are infused with mood altering elixirs to help you Chill Out or Rise & Shine! – You can wear alone or as a top coat.

Each tube is a CRAZY generous 10.8 grams of gloss for 6$.  The tube is huge right down to the doe foot applicator which is also mammoth.

I have two original Glossaholics in 367 Fireball (red) and 371 Fairy (light pink) and one of the ‘mood altering’ glosses in Chill Out 373 Vanilla (clear).  After I got the first one I was sort of shocked I liked it.  It’s delicious, which is sometimes a bad thing in a lip product, you’re more apt to lick your lips.  These have an amazing sweet cupcake taste/scent.

From left to right: Fairy, Fireball, and Chill Out

These glosses come in about eight different shades from light to dark, although the darker shades are very sheer.  Fairy is a very soft sheer pink with an explosion of sparkle.  And I mean an explosion.  The pink of the gloss hardly shows up, as you can see, but the pink of the sparks are brilliant.  Fireball looks to be a bright red, but it’s more of a red jelly, it’s sheer and more like a stain of color.  The glitter in that is more ‘flake’ then glitter.  Chill Out was actually a little disappointing.  I was hoping it would be as sparkly as Fairy, just not as pink.  It’s just very sheer with more flakes and less sparkle.  Over a lipstick it looks very shiny and the sparks are subtle, but there.  I honestly don’t think it’s altered my mood at all, though.

If you can refrain from licking your lips, the gloss wears fairly well.  The formula is thick and rich but not sticky.  I did have to reapply it a couple of times throughout the day, but honestly I haven’t found a gloss yet that wears all day.  My lips felt moist and not caked or thick, even with a layer of lipstick and gloss.

Would I purchase Glossaholic lip gloss again?  Yes.

✔  The price is right for the GIANT tube.

✔  I really like how the sparkles look and there is a variety of shades.

✔  It wears well.

Price: 5/5

Packaging: 5/5

Pigmentation: 3/5

Wear: 3/5

Overall: / 5

17 Responses to “Glossaholic”

  1. These look pretty!

  2. oOo I want! A much better deal than the MAC Superglasses were

  3. I love these but sometimes when I pull the applicator out I get splashed with a big wad of gloss. Got a nice stain on my pants right before leaving for work…

    Any way, I really love the contrasting purple and gold flakes in Chill Out. Wish I could transform this into a nail polish.

  4. I have seen quite a few good reviews on these glosses. Good to know you give them your blessing too. I can’t say I’ve been a fan of anything Hard Candy, but these look like they may be worth checking out!

  5. I agree, Hard Candy has been hit or miss for me, so nice to read a good review before I try these!

  6. Fairy looks absolutely gorgeous! I must pick one up next time I’m at WalMart.

  7. too bad I can’t pull off shimmery or sparkly lips 😦

  8. I am impressed by how hard candy has revamped their cosmetics.. some of their products arent as great as others but what works or one doesnt always work for another..I am a fan of HC lip plumping gloss.. great review grey.. I think I am going to have to get one of these soon!!

  9. I ended up at Walmart tonight and remembered your review! I ended up buying one in Lush. 🙂 These really remind me of the MAC Dazzleglasses — just not as expensive with way more product!

  10. These looks REALLY stunning, makes me wanna go out and buy them, but wait – no Hard Candy for Germany, lol. I love how you captured the sheerness with your cam, that never really works with mine -_-

  11. These looks amazing, I love flakies so much and the idea of them on the lips reeeally appeals to me. I need someone to do me a CP of some Hard Candy stuff, some of it looks amazing.

  12. I wants these im off to Florida in Sept and I will find them!

  13. I’m pretty sure I have every single one of these, except maybe minus one (probably the darkest of all of them) and I absolutely love them! some complain about the large doe foot, but I actually love it. They were cheap too. I think I was about to buy all of them for…maybe $35 for the whole collection? That is just insane for how much you get.

  14. I picked up one of these just by chance at Walmart a few months ago and I was hooked. I have Fairy and Tipsy. I prefer Fairy, by far. It seems like the flakies in Tipsy don’t transfer over as well and the color isn’t much different once on your lips. It’s easy to take a little bit on the back of your hand, mix in a loose shadow of your choice and make a gorgeous gloss. And the smell is fantastic. I’m going to pick up some more colors as soon as possible.

  15. Oh, I may have to CP these. They look amazing.

  16. I’ve been on the fence about these. Every time I’m in a Walmart, I pick one up and end up putting it back. Now I know I need to grab more than one and head straight to the register!

  17. Wow, that really is a big wand. These look pretty, but I’m still on the fence about glittery lipglosses. I own a glittery lipstick, I own about 30 glittery eyeshadows (and that’s still not enough!), but something about glittery lipglosses always still makes me think of like kid’s play makeup? I don’t know. These do look awfully pretty, though!

    Also, I gave you a blog award at my site http://floamia.blogspot.com/2011/07/blog-award-from-esper-makeup.html, because I think its fracking awesome xD