Guerlain Météorites – A Review

Inspired by light and created by Guerlain, Météorites Pearls employ the technology of white light, which is used in photography and film to erase imperfections and soften features. A constellation of 6 multi-colored pearls blend together for a flawless, radiant complexion. These pearls-with-a-purpose have now been reinvented in 3 color harmonies that are adapted to each skintone.

Météorites come in a gorgeous little enameled tin that contains 1.05 oz of pearls (30 grams of powder) for $57.  To compare, a MAC Mineralize Skinfinish compact is 0.22 oz / 6.5 g for $28.  It works out to be about $53 an ounce where as the MAC product is $127 an ounce.

There are three shades available: Rose, Beige, and DorRose is for pink based skin tones, Beige is neutral, and Dor is for yellow based.  I ended up ordering Beige.  Why?  I honestly have no idea.  I couldn’t find swatches or anything that seemed helpful so I literally took a stab since I have no idea.

The pearls come in a enameled little metal pot.  The top comes off (it just pops off, it’s not ‘secure’) and inside is a little velvet puff that holds the luxurious pearls in place so that they don’t rattle and damage.  The first thing you’ll notice is the ‘violet’ scent.  It’s the same sort of scent that the Physician’s Formula Happy Booster compacts are supposed to have, only… clearer?  Sharper?  I’m guessing they copied it from Guerlain.  I honestly worried it was a little much at first, but it grows on you and disappears on your skin.

There are several different colors of pearls, six according to the description.  (I really wish there was a green pearl in mine like in the product shot from Sephora, but I don’t think there is.)  Most of which are a lovely matte/satin but the white ones are shimmery and sparkly and the lighter golden one slightly shimmery.  This is where things get interesting.  Using it all at once, with say a puff or a VERY soft brush, the powder can be shimmery sometimes and not the next, depending on WHERE the little white pearls are.  I almost need to shake it a little (carefully) to make sure it’s the same each time I use it.  I’ve even gone so far as to pick out a few little pearls and put them in another container just to have a certain blend.

Using it is tricky, you have to find just the right brush.  The company does sell one but I’ve found that a very soft kabuki works best.  You need to be ever so gentle as you swirl the brush over the beads.  I swirl my brush a little in one direction and then a little in the other.  I don’t buff the powder into my skin like you might with a mineral foundation, instead I dust it on.  It’s not so shimmery you can’t use it all over your face, although I tend to keep it to my highlight areas, not so much my chin or my nose.

Does it erase imperfections and create a flawless complexion?  Not exactly, although in actual pictures, I do somehow look nicely airbrushed.  I just can’t walk around with people looking at me through a camera lens.  In actual life it gives my face a subtle radiance that I like.  I’m not sure it’s something I would wear everyday because it makes your skin look ‘finished’ rather then natural or bare.

Would I purchase Guerlain Météorites again?  Yes.

✘  It’s ridiculously expensive.

✔  It’s actually quite a bit of product.

✔   I like the luxurious feel of it.

✔  It blends into my fair skin well and it’s not OVERLY shimmery.

Price: 1/5

Packaging: 5/5

Pigmentation: 4/5

Wear: 4/5

Overall: .5/5

8 Responses to “Guerlain Météorites – A Review”

  1. What an interesting review. I’m wondering if the company makes sure there’s a certain number of pearls that go into each pot (you know, like X no. of white pearls, Y number of pink pearls, etc). I would buy this just for the tin itself – it’s even more pretty in your photo – but I don’t think I have a light enough hand to use it myself. Maybe in the future.

  2. Interesting… I had no idea how those would be. 🙂 It looks beautiful and creative. I wonder which one had the red pearl…

  3. Pretty! Reminds me of something I probably would’ve found on my step-grandma’s vanity table, played with and then got yelled at when I inevitably spilled the pearls on to the floor.

  4. I’m torn. It looks pretty but I think I’d hate the crapshoot of never being able to get it to be the same each time.

  5. I’ve been curious about these for awhile now, thanks for the review. Knowing me I’d never actually use these, just look at them in that gorgeous pot.

  6. nice review.. and an interesting product.. I would try but a little to expensive for my budget.. glad you like it though!!

  7. Thank you for reviewing this! I’ve always been curious about the Guerlain Météorites — the pearly-shimmer factor is always what stopped me from purchasing the product.
    Good tip about removing the pearly meteorites though!

    🙂

  8. Only $57?! Wow, that’s cheap compared to Croatian prices (which is probably somewhere about at least $80 ) lol 😀

    Anyway, I’m not really a fan of these, I just don’t get the hype for some reason and I’m actually glad I don’t cause I’d be broke 😀