Let’s see if this actually works…

I wanted to give this Rimmel Match Perfect concealer a try for two reasons. One, because it supposedly color adjusts to your skin tone and two, because it seems like a really inexpensive under eye highlighter option.

Skin Tone adapting concealer.  2 in 1 concealer and highlighter.  Banish signs of fatigue and illuminate the eye area.  Lets skin breathe.

1) SMART-TONE ® technology:the next generation of skin matching
2) BLUE SAPPHIRE for superior freshness and anti-fatigue effect
3) OXYGENATING COMPLEX re-energizes and lets your skin breathe

My tube says NOTHING about the facts listed above.  In fact, my tube is just a tube with no real packaging or information at all.  Maybe I should have taken noted of the display because it would have been nice to know.

Anywho, PM is about 5$ for a .23 ounce tube.  The tube has one of those brush sort of applicators on it.  It’s annoying because I keep squeezing TOO much product out rather then ‘just enough’.  For the price, I guess I can’t complain that I’m wasting about 1/4 of it every time I use it, still.  It’s not ideal.  And there was a couple of long loose bristles from the brush that kept annoying me and one finally came free and lodged itself in the product under my eye and I had to fish it out with tweezers.

I don’t use concealer.

I have nothing to tell.  We neither of us do. I, because I conceal nothing. You, because you communicate nothing.

~Marianne

I’m lucky enough that I don’t have issues under my eyes.  While the skin is a little thinner, I use a great eye cream.  I don’t have bags or puffiness or circles.  And looking at my mother and my grandmothers, I don’t think I will.  I have been using it more and more though to brighten up the area and lift up my cheek bones, though.  It helps clean up after fall out really well and I sort of like the look of it.  But… everything creases.  I have eyes that sort of crinkle naturally when I smile, you see, and yes getting older has added to that.  This?  This didn’t seam to crease or cake up, although I admittedly didn’t layer it much.

As far as actually concealing spots, I coudln’t seem to get it to work that well.  I kept having to layer it and add to it and blend blend blend and no matter what, it wasn’t great coverage.

Another huge problem for me is that no one seems to make a concealer LIGHT enough for me to use anyway.  There are a few places on my cheeks that have pigmentation from teenage break outs.  Nothing is light enough, so I skip it and usually try to layer my foundation.  Sadly, even ‘self adjusting’, this product was no exception.

125 Fair

I blended and worked with it, but it was darker then my skin and under my eyes it had the opposite effect of highlighting.  It worked in so much that it’s golden toned rather then pink.

It seemed to fade REALLY quickly.  After about two hours I looked in the mirror and I couldn’t even tell I had anything on, which would have been great EXCEPT that because it doesn’t match my skin tone at all it was OBVIOUS that I’d applied it in certain places.  So not seeing it in this case, was bad.  I washed my face and reapplied, this time setting everything with powder, and it still seemed to disappear quickly.

Would I purchase Rimmel’s Perfect Match concealer again?  No.

✘  I really don’t think the color was self adjusting, I’m far too pale for this to work.

✘  It didn’t seem to cover anything.

✘ It doesn’t wear well or last.

Price: 4/5

Packaging: 3/5

Pigmentation: 2/5

Wear: 2/5

Overall: .75 /  5

15 Responses to “Let’s see if this actually works…”

  1. Here’s hoping you find a concealer! I need one so much, but I feel like I’ve used every single one on the market and none of them work. 😦

  2. Yeah, I have Bobbi Brown’s concealer, and it doesn’t work. La Prairie’s doesn’t work either. So, it isn’t a matter of cost. I think they just don’t work in general.

  3. I’ve tried numerous ‘skin matching’ products and they NEVER actually match my skin. I don’t believe anythign that claims to do it anymore 😛

  4. I have the same issues with most drug store foundations + concealers — they’re all too dark for me! If I do find one light enough, it has pink undertones and I have yellow undertones. I like the YSL touch eclat click pen (Dior makes a similar one) It’s pricey but I do notice a big difference in my appearance after using it! I just use it for reducing the appearance of my dark circles and I use Cover FX concealer for acne.

    FYI I used some seabuckthorn and rosehip seed oils on some pigmented areas from past break outs and they disappeared! Took about three months to vanish completely, but totally worth the effort!

  5. What great eye cream do you use? 🙂

  6. The only concealer I’ve found that I like and that works for me is from MAC. But at almost $17 a tube, it would be nice to find a cheaper alternative!

  7. Thanks for the review! I’m currently looking for a liquid concealer but somehow I am afraid everything will either crease or not cover enough. So I’ll probably steer cear of Rimmel and stick to my mineral concealer (which, btw, is definetly lighter than most drug store products).

  8. I have the same issues with foundation, concealers & tinted moisturizers, especially if it’s a “one shade fits all” product. The only concealers I’ve found that truly match my paleness are Lorac’s Coverup in the fairest shade and Laura Mercier secret camouflage, though that one irks me because its only available in a duo, and I never use the deeper shade. Oh well, not many options mean we take what we can!

  9. We all know that Bobbi Brown make correctors/highlighters both pink based and yellow based that go obscenely pale, but are expensive. But – much as I am loathe to recommend them – Sleek’s new-ish pen highlighter is pale enough for me, more or less, without being white or orange and it has more meat to it than touché eclat. It’s a bit more concealer less shimmery highlighter. It’s an annoyingly good all rounder.

    Grr. Stupid Sleek.

    • If you can get it, Milani’s HD Concealer is a really good touché eclat-a-like. It’s not a shimmery highlighter and the colors are better at looking human. I’d almost use the same words you describe the Sleek pen.

      It’s just the fact that nothing defeats my undereye circles is my problem. I just hesitate to recommend it, because I’m not sure if Milani’s available in the UK.

    • I hate having to order from Sleeeeekkkkkkk. Ugh.