Win or Die – The Shadows

Across the Narrow Sea

The Geek: The Narrow Sea. The only thing that separate Westeros and Essos. While easy enough to cross, it makes warfare between the Seven Kingdoms and the Free Cities difficult. The Dothraki are afraid of it, and Robert is afraid of what lies beyond. That’s probably wise, considering Braavos has the largest and most powerful Navy force on the Narrow Sea. And then there are the hundreds of thousands of tribal horse-worshippers that wouldn’t be squeamish about plundering a kingdom or two. If, you know, they weren’t afraid of the frickin’ water.

The Chic: A lush, rich turquoise as deep as the sea at the end of the world. More green than blue, with gleaming seafoam highlight and a glimmer of aqua sparkles. Goes on opaqaue and smooth for even coverage. Can be used wet as an eyeliner. Not lip safe.

foiled, dry, with EMP glitter

This is one of those colors that I collect.  I really love these tealy blue shadows.  It’s a little similar to a few others I have with that sort of golden shadow, but there is a lot of depth to this one.  I also ordered EMP at the same time and I HAD to swatch these together, they are gorgeous.  I will definitely be wearing these together often.

Born in Fire

The Geek: Fire cannot hurt a dragon. Nor can it hurt Daenerys Stormborn, the last of the Targaryen line. With her family slain and Vicerys killed by her command, Daenerys came into her own and discovered her strength as Khaleesi. Although her love, Khal Drogo, was killed, she remains strong and a force to be reckoned with. Having the only three dragons left in the world doesn’t hurt.

The Chic: The rich, regal violet of the Targaryens with smokey indigo depths. Silky, with a pearlescent sheen and a scattering of glittering ruby embers. Born in Fire goes on opaque makes for a smoldering smoky eye. It can also be used wet as an eyeliner. Not lip safe.

foiled and dry

I am not a fan of Daenrys.  I know that’s a unpopular opinion, but around the third book I just started skipping her chapters.  When swatching these, though, I actually stopped to put this on, creating an amazing rich smokey eye.  I love the subtle hint of red spark.  This shadow foiled amazingly.

Brotherhood of Crows

The Geek: Theives, rapers, and cowards… they just don’t make them of the same caliber as they used to. Although becoming a member of the Night’s Watch doesn’t hold the same prestige, it is still composed of capable men. Bonded together by duty and oath, they guard the wall from wildlings, beasts… and the Others.

The Chic: Like a sword hidden beneath the black cloak, Brotherhood of Crows is a dusky black base with a glint of metallic gunmetal. In the light, it shines with a host of subtle silver shimmers. Goes on semi-opaque but is easily built up to full coverage. Can be used wet as an eyeliner.

foiled and dry

This is a simply stunning color.  The formula is a little sticky and streaks, but it’s not all that hard to work it.  I love how it looks foiled and it makes a very rich liner shade.

The Imp

The Geek: Also known as ‘The Halfman’, Tyrion Lannister is the much despised son of Tywin Lannister. Because it’s totally reasonable to blame the death of your wife on your newborn son. Don’t write him off because of his height, however. While he lacks physical strength, he makes up for it with his brilliant, calculating, (and hilarious) mind. Tyrion also has a certain love for bastards, cripples, and broken things. And whores.

The Chic: An opulent, indulgent gold as rich as a Lannister and overflowing with silver stags, golden dragons and glittering ruby sparkles. As much bling as we could possibly fit into one chest.

foiled and dry

A Lannister always pays his debt.  I love this amazing gold shade.  When foiled it looks like pure gold.  I really like the formula for this shade, it’s one of my favorites.

Kingslayer

The Geek: Nobody understands Jaime Lannister. He stopped the Mad King Aerys from burning down the entire city of King’s Landing, but does anyone care? Everyone just seems to focus on the negative. You know, pushing a small child out a window, bearing three children with his twin sister… details, details. Ah well, the things Jaime Lannister does for love.

The Chic: A pearly white cloak of the Kingsguard which shines copper and golden in the light. The Kingslayer is iridescent, as multi-faceted and complex as the man himself. Kingslayer makes for a lovely highlight color and can even be used on the cheeks to add a coppery glow.

foiled and dry

It is impossible to describe this shade.  It was even harder to swatch.  When I foiled it it got a little powdery, but dry it was just amazing.  There are so many uses to this shade, it’s a great compliment to the collection.

The Pointy End

The Geek: “I’ve already killed one fat boy. I bet you’re a liar, but I’m not. I’m good at killing fat boys. I like killing fat boys.”

Arya isn’t like her stupid sister Sansa, and doesn’t much care for her anyways. Why be clean and proper, when one can explore and and get dirty? Arya is quick to adapt when things go terribly wrong for the Starks and remembers her first lesson from Jon well: stick them with the pointy end.

The Chic: A taupe with a real edge to it, The Pointy End is your graduation from practice neutrals. Pearlescent and smooth as summer silk, with a sharp silver glint. The Pointy end makes for a lovely twist on a neutral smoky eye and can be used wet as an eyeliner.

foiled and dry

This is my favorite shade of the collection.  It’s AMAZING.  Dry is makes an amazing smoky eye and foiled it’s a gorgeous multifaceted liner.  It looks great with Imp and Kingslayer.

Sellsword

The Geek: “Give me ten good men and some climbing spikes and I’ll impregnate the b****.”

Bronn doesn’t care who he’s working for as long as he’s making good gold doing it. He didn’t PLAN on saving Tyrion at trial, or sticking by him this long. After all, he’s not Tyrion’s friend: he’s a sellsword, not his sworn sword. Ah well, as long as the money is good.

The Chic: Deceptively simple and versatile, Sellsword is a smooth matte the colour of milk chocolate. Endlessly adaptable and all manner of useful, provided it doesn’t get a better offer.

foiled and dry

Bronn is a little hard to work with, I’d imagine, as is this shadow.  It’s a very nice matte, although it’s not all that easy to blend.  Less is more!  I’d say stay away from the sticky primers with this!  Foiled it makes a nice matte liner!

The Spider

The Geek: “The storms come and go, the waves crash overhead, the big fish eat the little fish, and I keep on paddling.”

The Spider, Master of Whisperers, Master of Disguise and… just kind of a creepy dude. Er, Eunuch. Right. Varys has ‘little birds’ in all corners of the Seven Kingdoms, and even more across the Narrow Sea. He claims to work for the good of the realm, but it is unclear where his loyalties lie.

The Chic: A disarmingly delicate, effeminate pastel halfway between pink and lavender. Light and silky, The Spider glides smoothly over the skin for a semi-opaque finish. Not lip safe.

foiled and dry

This is such a delicate shade in the middle of an otherwise rough collection.  Although I wasn’t crazy about how it foiled, I do think it looks amazing dry, especially with Brotherhood!

My favorites are The Pointy End and Kingslayer, but the whole collection is lovely.  I would have loved to see a green, maybe inspired by the color of the twin’s eyes or even a blue of some sort.  I really like Geek Chic.  I love the theme for the collections and the very witty descriptions each shade has.  Shipping is free on orders over 30$, and it was far too easy to fill my cart.

Have you tried these yet?  Which ones do you like most?

8 Responses to “Win or Die – The Shadows”

  1. WANT!!!!! So GORGEOUS! Must. Have. Pointy. End. •-•!

  2. T_T Definitely want, definitely have to wait. Booo.

  3. I want Born In Fire, The Pointy End, Brotherhood of Crows and The Imp most. The Imp mostly because I liked the description most ^^

    Wonderful swatches!

  4. YAY! I’m glad you like it! 🙂

    Born in Fire is my personal favorite in the collection. It’s funny because we both wanted to do a Daenerys color, and we both had the EXACT same idea for the shade.

    We both want to do more colors for GoT and plan on releasing another set of colors for the second book/season at a later time, so you may get that green 🙂

  5. I like the 3rd book chapters across the Narrow Sea because they give us a deeper view of the world, its history and mythology – the character we follow and their story are just a vessel.

    Cool collection, I can’t wait for them to feature the later, smart Sansa 🙂 .

    Littlefinger might not lend himself to eyeshadows, but he’d be great for a line of artsy beards. And probably a manicure set.

  6. I have to get Sellsword. Bronn is my favorite character AND I love mattes, win-win!

  7. Now I have to keep chanting “i’m on a no-buy, I’m on a no-buy, I’m on a no-buy” over and over. Especially when looking at The Imp, The Pointy End and Sellsword

  8. I’m usually drawn to steely gray shadows but The Imp really caught my eye!

    Sheesh I just know I’m going to get sucked in GoT eventually.

    Also, blogs are so much easier to visit when you have computers and internet instead of just old phones! Oh the joy of large photos! 😉