Scentscapade

I recently got a chance to try some of OHWTO that I’d never tried before.  I decided to catalog them!

A Stolen Bouquet

Purple blooms sneakily gathered from the gardens of others while nobody was looking- lilacs and violets, accented with orchids, with a dash of powdery vanilla added to ground the scent.

I just adore this.  I only like a trio of floral scents (rose, lily of the valley, and lilac) and to me this has very strong notes of lilac.  It’s more complex, though, and soft.  It smells like the cooler of a florists shop, you know, when you open it to get the individual blooms.  It’s elegant and effortless.

Highland Crest

The clean scent of an Ocean breeze, the waves dashed against the rocks below, ripe with Plumeria blossoms, cliffside Heather, and a worn Suede jacket to cut the chill.

Don’t shoot me, but this reminds me of my grandma’s bathroom.  She always used one of those weird gel fresheners that smelled like ‘ocean’ and she wore a sort of floral perfume.  I can distinctly remember everything on her vanity smelling this perfume and it’s not a bad thing, although nothing I think I would wear myself.  It’s too oceany.

Scarlett

A deceptively complex blend of Neroli, Cilantro, and Rhubarb. A sweet summertime smell for all the Southern belles.

This?  This I want to bath in.  We had a giant patch of rhubarb in the backyard growing up and mom used to make pies with it all the time.  This reminds me of a summer’s afternoon with a pie in the oven.  There is just a tact of an herbal kick in the back from the cilantro that it’s not ‘typical’.

Sugar Leaf

Notes of Vanilla Sugar, Sparkling Citron, Apple Peel, Sheer Floral, Sensual Woods, Creamy Musk

For some reason this reminds me of Fall, it’s slightly spicy and warm.  I like the little bite of apple, you can actually pick it out, it’s nice!

Rose Lemonade

Fresh-squeezed lemons and pink rosebuds, shaken with cubed ice, mixed liberally with chilled sparkling water and warmed by crushed ginger root, garnished for looks with a slice of pink grapefruit.

If you could marry a perfume, I’d be having babies.  Little rose and lemon scented babies.  I’m ANGRY that this is discontinued now and I didn’t get to order a metric ton of it.  It’s simply amazing, tangy and perfect.

Dude

Easily one of my favorite words of all time, Dude is one for the dudes, for sure. Heavy on the masculine with a heaping helping of manly thrown in for good measure. Sweet dark musk, cologne, well-worn leather, cloves, clary sage and a bit of litsea cubeba thrown in to brighten things up a bit.

This reminds me a little of Big Daddy, which is one of my favorite and first OHWTO scents.  It smells like a man.  Don’t try to figure it out, just go with it.  A man.  It’s sexy and amazing on a woman, like you were just up to no good and he’d clinging to you.

Tea Rose Mimosa

Red Tea, white rose, and raw honey; brewed, cooled, and splashed with sparkling champagne and served upon an antique wooden tray. A soft, delicate scent- rose haters, this one might just steal your heart.

Love.  Love.  Love.  The kick of champagne adds a nice tang to an otherwise expected rose fragrance.  It’s sweet but not at all cloying.

Tilly

Sweet, juicy peaches, rows upon rows of tomato plants ready to harvest, damp earth and Lily-of-the-Valley underfoot, a trail of fragrant honeysuckle, and a locket filled with intoxicating amber. A fruity floral with green notes to cut the sweetness.

This is such a complicated scent.  Reading the description I wondered how on earth it would be pulled off, and I honestly worried it would just be a muddled mess.  I’m so glad I was wrong.  No, I can’t pick out EACH individual note, but so many of them are obvious from time to time that it still remains nice and crisp.

Raspberry Gingerale

Ripe red raspberries floating up and down in a pitcher of freshly-poured ginger ale, thanks to help from millions of fizzy pinprick bubbles. A touch of blackcurrant adds a syrupy sweetness to the blend without weighing it down. A bright and lively scent!

How is this perfume?  It smells like delicious candy.  It’s a little fizzy and tart with raspberry.

Tart

Creamy vanilla and tart candy notes make up this mouth-watering fragrance. Seriously, get your drool bib ready before using this one, it’s that good.

This one reminds me of a commercial perfume that I can’t exactly remember the name of.  It’s really pretty, although honestly when I wear it it’s a little too strong and it’s ALL I can smell.

Lattitude

Coconut flesh, lychee, mango and jackfruit, pineapple juice, vanilla, honeysuckle and magnolia. A sweet and tropical fruity-floral fragrance, perfect for the hottest summer days.

I keep wanting to lick this, thinking that it would make an amazing lip balm.  It’s just delicious.  I wore it the other day to the doctor and she asked me, probably twice, what I’d been eating or if I’d just had Jamba Juice.

What’s your favorite OHWTO scent?

14 Responses to “Scentscapade”

  1. I love soooo many, but if I could narrow it down a bit:
    Calaveras (cinnamon/orange anything rocks)
    Fevrier
    Finnegan’s Folly
    Desolation Angel
    And Blackberry Sage Tea & Mayan Gold are my favourite 2 of the stock scents

  2. I’m so jealous that you have Rose Lemonade. I had the chance to order it right before Becca ran out, but I ordered Barista instead. 😦

  3. Ahhh, I love so many of OHWTO’s scents… it’s hard to choose! I love love love Victuals, it was my first OHWTO. Bitten and Fresh are also favorites, and I really adore Tilly too.

    I actually love Highland Crest – I need to pick up a full-sized one soon!

  4. Fresh Snow Fresh Snow Fresh Snow. I think I need to try Highland Crest now though x] I love me some ocean! ❤

  5. Los Angelitos, which is a so non-me scent it surprised me when I loved it as much as I did.
    Other than that, I’ve yet to get a dud from Becca.

  6. I have wanted fresh snow ever since Ana reviewed it! Anything clean cotton is heaven in my book. I also want raspberry gingerale now! Dang surgery is stealing all of my money though so I cant buy anything. I hope she still has it by the time I can order.

  7. Mermaid, without a doubt 🙂
    I got a 5ml bottle of Stolen Bouquet too, thanks to the facebook contest. It’s my favourite scent out of this latest purchase (added a few samples). Soft, wearable, feminine and a good blend.

  8. I have to agree about Rose Lemonade. Becca sent me a sample (mine is labeled with my name since it was a request and wasn’t ready yet) but I never had a chance to order a vat of it. :o(
    I might need to get Dude for my husband since that was his nickname at his old job.

    OHWTO has yet to do anything but wow me.Now to add to my wishlist.

  9. Pastecceria and Barista are my go tos. I recently got Raspberry GingerAle as well and it smells just like Scweppes. That’s a compliment. Carnivale is great too.

    Those are my favorites but honestly, everything I’ve ever gotten has been amazing.

  10. Sakura! I wasn’t expecting to like it but I love it! Its so feminine and pretty. Another would be Be Mine its a very comforting scent. I put it on before bed on a cold night with freshly washed sheets and I had the best sleep ever. Haha

  11. Crap, you make me want to order stuff despite the fact I need to organize everything in my scent collection (my family always gives me perfumes; I have far too many) and actually don’t have space right now. ;(

  12. your reviews have put several more on my sample list. thank you!

    my favorites, at this point, are stock scents, old irish tweed, amazing, viva la juicy. i like big daddy, but not as much as i love old irish tweed (i think the weather needs to be colder for me to love big daddy more). why do i gravitate to the man scents?

  13. Is A Stolen Bouquet a discontinued scent? I love the sound of the description, but I can’t find it in the stock/private stock scent list on the website. Not that I really need more perfume, especially with The Morbid The Merrier’s new Halloween perfumes out that I’m drooling over, but dang it, I want to smell like a flower cooler.

  14. Nooo, Rose Lemonade sounds fabulous. Damn.