Win or Die

“When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die.

There is no middle ground.”

The Inspiration

I dislike Cersei in a way that makes me simply adore her.  She’s one of those villains you ‘love to hate’.  She wanders through the books disgruntled and every time she’s on screen she looks mildly constipated. At first, I was thinking of designing a beautiful emerald look for her.  Her eyes are described as bright green and is often clothed in rich green silks and emeralds.  It was contradictory, since neither the Lannister or Baratheon colors are green.  I ran across this image on Tumblr and it was striking.  It’s not the deep crimson of the Lannister arms, but it suits her perfectly.  After seeing the close up of her pendant I knew exactly what I wanted to do.

The Makeup

Cersei doesn’t exactly inspire any great or glamorous looks.  In fact, I think she’s actually quite plain.  I chose warm soft peaches and pinks for her look.  Your base can be sheer and natural, nothing overly perfect or matte.

For the eyes I actually wanted to go a little lived in and smudgy.  As a base I chose Ethereal, from Brazen Cosmetics (which is perfect, Cersie is nothing if not Brazen).  Once that’s applied across the lid you can add some depth to the socket with a darker color.  Then line the eye in a rich chocolate brown kohl and smudge it up, adding a ton of dark mascara.  The key to a classic Cersei look is a STRONG brow, so fill yours in sort of dramatically!

For the cheeks, I’m using Perfect 10, a VERY glittery and gorgeous peach dusted along the back of the cheeks and the hairline, more like a contour or bronzer.  On the lips I’m going with Brazen’s new Balmstick in Flawless.  I really love the near monochrome look of these shades and these lips are easy to wear and non fussy.

On the nails I was very tempted to use a rich red, but thought twice.  I went with a simple nude (Inglot 874) but even a shiny topcoat would work.

The Accessories

I knew I would never find the right necklace for this, so I set out to make my own.  I managed to get my hands on a vintage brass lion that I turned into a pendant and then created the focal point of the look around it.  The jewelry trio (necklace, earrings, and bracelet) were all made for under 20$.  I used the same gems and metals to tie to look together so everything ‘matched’.  Since the necklace draws so much focus, the earrings and bracelet are super simple.

I’m not a big shawl sort of gal.  But I did very much want to mimic the look of her netted wrap.  I chose this wide crocheted cowl in its place.  It’s incredibly versatile and easy to wear a dozen different ways, and it’s the perfect deep Lannister red.  In fact, I was SO happy with this shawl/wrap/cowl I went back to this shop for a second one to use in another GoT SD.

Cersei always seems to have her hair in some sort of braid.  Because I already went crazy with the rocks and brass, I wanted to keep my hair simple.  This braid headband was exactly what I needed.  I ran across it in Sally’s, of all places.  You can get them in a variety of shades to match your own hair color.

I decided that Cersei’s scent is decadent and for some reason tart stuck in my head.  10 Digit Creation’s Scarlet Moon is not only perfectly named, but the perfect combination of cranberry and spice.

The Rest

Personally, I’d wear this with my basic uniform of a white top, old jeans, and maybe some boots (this leans more towards brown then black in the boot department).  Anything you pair it with has to be very simple on the top because of the cowl and the necklace.

*996
10 Responses to “Win or Die”

  1. The pendant is amazing.
    And yes, Cersei is sure the character that you love to hate. Even after I read “A feast for crows” I couldn’t feel much sympathy for her.

  2. Love all the detail you go into for these looks! Awesome!

  3. This is amazing.

  4. You did a great job on this look. I especially love that oversized cowl. I’ve always wanted to make a cowl for myself, but I overheat too easily, so I know I’d never wear it. 😦

  5. I love pinks and peaches! Lovely look 🙂

  6. This is amazing Grey! Your Style Diaries make me want to watch/read GoT more every time you do one, better wait til I’m on Uni holidays though or I won’t get anything done.

    I love that cowl, we’re going in to Spring but the weather is still pretty unpredictable – good enough excuse for me!

  7. Ooh, I’m liking those boots! 🙂 The Balmstick is a really lovely shade, as well.

  8. I want to try Brazen’s Balmsticks so so badly.

    I have to be honest, up until a week ago we didn’t have HBO so I’m woefully behind on the Game of Thrones phenomena but I really like this look, especially the boots.

  9. Oh my gosh I love this! I especially love it because of the simplicity of the base – these accessories really *make* the outfit.

    I was not looking forward to cooler weather until I saw that cowl.

    Nice job on the necklace! That lion is perfect and the red beads look perfectly royal.

    Man I really am going to get sucked into GoT.