Brotherhood of Crows

“Night gathers, and now my watch begins. It shall not end until my death. I shall take no wife, hold no lands, father no children. I shall wear no crowns and win no glory. I shall live and die at my post. I am the sword in the darkness. I am the watcher on the walls. I am the fire that burns against cold, the light that brings the dawn, the horn that wakes the sleepers, the shield that guards the realms of men. I pledge my life and honor to the Night’s Watch, for this night and all the nights to come.”

The Inspiration

Although I already did a dark Game of Thrones inspired look, it was focused more on Winterfell and the biting white cold.  This look, although similar (as they all might seem, really), draws it’s inspiration from the brothers of the Night’s Watch, a merry/not-so-merry band of murders, thieves, cast-offs, and Lords.

The Makeup

I think a dark and smokey eye is almost expected when you take the black.  Too typical, I think.  I wanted something oddly different and thankfully Makeup Geek posted just the right tutorial.  It’s not a new look, I’ve been wearing reverse liner for a while and a lot of other ‘gurus’ have done tutorials, but the simplicity of this is what stuck with me.

What I DID know was that I wanted to use the amazing Metallico collection from Cargo.  There were ‘issues’ since Ulta is the only company that carries Cargo at the moment, other then getting it from Cargo itself.  Everything in this kit just SCREAMED at me to get it.  Using the liner, shadow, and mascara you can recreate this look easily.  For the blush, I ordered this Suede blush in Montebello, which is a gorgeous golden pinky shade.  You can use this lightly on the eye (in the crease for definition) and on the cheeks.  For the lips I wanted to ditch the expected dark shades and stick with a lighter shade, like in the tutorial.  The PERFECT pink was procured when I discovered Jemma Kidd’s Air Kiss in Sassy.  A full review of all of these products will be posted soon!

Once again, skip the dark nails and go with the accent color to this look, baby pink!  I’m using Essie’s Poppy Art Pink, which is a good compliment to the gloss.

The perfume was tricky.  Soooo tricky.  I wanted to find a leather based scent and I already used a smoky one with Winter is Coming.  I stumbled across Sparrow, from Wiggle, and knew it was perfect.  It’s a little smoky and spicy.

The Accessories

Crows have feathers.  I wanted to somehow incorporate feathers into this look, but I hate the look of those ‘cocktails’.  Just so you know, I really can’t stand them.  I ran across a bunch of ‘faux’ feathers in Micheal’s the other day and while yes, they look fake, tucked into your hair they look sort of adorable!  A headband or a barrette just wouldn’t be right, so I used a little micro clamp to attach them, sort of like the typical feather extensions would be, and solved my problem.  I went with both black and my accent of light pink.

Ok, so this is one more instance in which I thought I wanted to wear a cape, but decided not to.  After I ordered the red cowl for my Cersie look and LOVED it as much as I did, I turned once again to that designer and picked up this shaggy black hood type… cape!  It’s perfect and almost a literal interpretation of my inspiration picture, ie Jon Snow.  There are so many ways to wear it and it’s super comfortable and really gets compliments.

The jewelry was easy.  I ended up using the bag from the Metallico collection and then put it together with a bracelet I actually made a few weeks ago.  It’s the same multi-chain sort of design as the bag and punctuated with light pink crystals.  I decided to skip earrings (which I usually wear in my second holes) and get actual plugs.  I knew exactly what I wanted and ordered these snowflake obsidian tunnels from BAF.  Obsidian is the only blade that can kill an Other!

The Rest

As usual, I’d wear this with my typical ‘uniform’ of old jeans and a white shirt.  Maybe even a grey tank.  Either way, I went all out and pulled out my decades old 20 eyelet Doc Martens.

14 Responses to “Brotherhood of Crows”

  1. I love this,
    For some reason I was convinced you were going to use the horseman (from the morbid the merrier) perfume. On me its smoky, woody and it has leather too.

  2. Oooh I love this. Big fan of books and show.

  3. Really like this look. I never would have thought of the light pink as a contrast color for the Brotherhood of Crows, but I like how it all comes together, edgy and a little bit soft. And ugh all that Cargo stuff is not helping my urge to have a crazy Cargo shopping spree. Looking forward to the reviews.

    ….Oh my, just saw the boots. Love, love, love them!

  4. I am so making a ‘Team Snow’ shirt. Fabulous combo! And now I want that scarf.

  5. Oh, lovely! I ❤ Sparrow- I think it's the cardamom in it but I dunno. Don't care, it's just wonderful and perfect for cool fall evenings. That Cargo set looks awesome, too!

    • I’m really addicted to cardamon now. It’s also in the MGA Quills and Candle… or whatever it’s called.

  6. I wish I could buy a bracelet like this.
    Where do you usually buy your jewelry making supplies, if it’s ok to ask?