Nuance – A Quick Overview

“I took three years off my [acting] career to work on this,” she said in an exclusive interview with WWD. “This is not something that required 14 hours. Nooo, baby. This has been a full-time job.”

To say that Hayek is passionate about her new beauty endeavor with CVS, would indeed be putting it mildly. The project, which she said has been on her mind for almost 10 years, in the works for six years and under development for the past three, had the actress literally in tears and on the edge of her cushioned chair. To the crowd, the Mexican beauty convincingly discussed how she sought to create a line to honor her grandmother’s beauty secrets, a cosmetologist who studied at Vichy Labs in Paris, and who also combined Native American and Mayan remedies into her potions. Ingredients used by her family, some not even known to top chemists, are cornerstones of the collection and range from familiar rosewater to the more obscure tepezcohuite.

~WWD

I picked up a couple things, but today I’m going to talk about:

Beautiful Blends Eye Quad in Neutral – 080

I really wanted to get this quad because I loved how adorable the packaging was.  Now that I have it, I hate the packaging.  It’s impossible to use one handed and it’s cumbersome and awkward.  It takes up a lot of space and I actually don’t use this because there isn’t enough room for me to store it.

That being said, the colors are lovely.  To me, this shadow formula is a little ‘dry’.  It’s not soft or powdery, but I’m used to the near creaminess of Inglot and mineral shadows.  With a primer, they wear really well and don’t fade.  The colors are really lovely and blend well.  I wish they weren’t so shiny, but they’re not all out shimmery, so they’re fairly good for everyday and more subdued looks.

Mineral Eyeshadow Duo in Sheer Plum/Putty – 001

Thinking about it now, I almost wish I’d have picked this up in another combination, but all in all, I am really happy with these shades.  I didn’t realize until I sat down just now to write this that there were so many different shades available, my CVS only had three.

This duo comes in a cute teardrop shaped compact.  It’s nice and sturdy.  I am going to depot this, though, and pop it into my Unii palette.  It’s TOO cumbersome for me.

The colors are gorgeous.  The Plum is supposed to be a sheer shade, obviously, but I think it’s fairly opaque.  The Putty?  I’m using it to DEATH it goes with EVERYTHING and makes an amazing crease color.  It blends really well for a ‘matte’, which I’m fairly certain it is.

Flawless Mineral Cheek Trio in Pink – 290

I think I was the MOST excited to try one of these trios when I first read the release.  I have no idea why, but I have this thing for ‘baked’ products.  Sometimes they sort of suck (see MAC mineralized eye shadows) but I always try them anyway.  I really liked the three shades in one, you get not only a blush, but a contour and a highlighter.  I was pretty sure the contour shade was going to be too dark, but I soldiered on and picked through until I found this trio in pink.  It’s also available in Apricot, Mauve, and Spice.

This comes in the same sort of teardrop shaped palette as the shadows.  When I got this, it was in one piece.  By the time I got it home it was in two.  The makeup (which is baked in a terracotta pan) broke out of the compact and rattled around and chipped up a little, making me a sad panda.  I cleaned it up and glued it back in.

The pink and the highlight are great, but the brown for the contour is much too dark for me.  I hate to make assumptions, but I think the whole collection is a bit more for someone with a medium to darker skin tone.  There were almost no real light foundation/powder/concourse options.

The blush is a nice satin finish that blends well, although I did notice it faded a bit.  The highlight is a fairly neutral shimmery shade that I actually wear on my brow for a highlight and I really like it.  Sometimes I swipe a little more around the lavender bits so it’s a bit more on the cool side.

Would I purchase Nuance Cosmetics again? Maybe.

●  The packaging is adorable, but not all that user friendly.

●  The quality was really hit or miss.

●  There isn’t that great a variety of shades.

✔ The prices are fairly affordable, especially the BOGO sales they’ve been running.

Price: 4/5

Packaging: 3/5

Pigmentation: 4/5

Wear: 4/5

Overall: .75   /  5

6 Responses to “Nuance – A Quick Overview”

  1. The duo in plum/putty looks like it could almost dupe NARS Grand Palais. What do you think?

  2. You should check out the lipsticks, if you haven’t yet. I’ve found them to be pretty moisturizing and “My Favorite” has been my standard lipstick for weeks now. Grabbing them during the BOGO sale makes me feel better about the price. 🙂 Though, they’re probably still worth full price.

    I wasn’t actually interested in anything else (sooo many eyeshadows I need to sort through), until you swatched these. Thanks!

  3. Interesting. Putty looks amazing. And that highlight is very pretty. The colors in that quad look beautiful but I don’t think I’d ever buy it because of that weird packaging. If only there were a CVS nearby…

  4. Huh. I’m not all that sold on buying them considering what you’ve said about the packaging and quality, but I suspect that most of them will be in my skin tone. It’s lovely to have more options in drugstore cosmetics.

  5. I still haven’t seen these anywhere 😦 Putty looks AMAZING and I want it now. 😦 Maybe it’s time for a roadtrip.

  6. I’m happy to see the review of this line. I’ve been curious about the products.