Fyrinnae – The Halloween Collection 2011

I don’t even know how to adequately describe the amazingness that is Fyrinnae.  I’m always at a loss as to describe the shades, they are simply amazing.  Although I know it’s a demon crafted substance, I think there is some sort of alien technology at work here, as well.  I just can’t fathom how anyone can formulate these shades.

Each full sized Fyrinnae shadow comes in a 5 gram jar that is completely full.  It’s labeled with the company name, the shade, and a complete list of ingredients.

I have to admit, swatching these are impossible.  I think Alchemist’s Curse switched colors on me at least twice.

The Halloween collection this year is comprised of:

‘Regular’ shadows

Dorian Grey

This is ‘my’ shade.  It’s really not, but it’s exactly what I’m into right now, grey and teal.  You can see I’ve already been wearing this one.  It’s a marvelous nearly metallic shade.

Purgatory

Blackened red.  Deep velvet.  In the jar it seems very red, swatched it’s very burned.  Needless to say, it’s a favorite.

Book of the Dead

Book of the Dead is a perfect liquid gold.  It’s clear and crisp.

Arcanes

Fyrinnae’s Arcane Magic Eyeshadows are specialized colours with a highlight that changes hue depending on how the light hits it (closer to or further from a light). Different light sources may show different shades, too. All have a semi-opaque base to show off the colours better, some deeper than others. The Mini (sample) sizes are smaller because these colours are quite a bit more expensive to create than our standard eye shadows. Please note that the Arcanes will probably look a little different in photos than in person because of the light-change effect.

Bride of Frankenstein

I’m really not a blue shadow girl, but I think I am now.  Bride of Frankenstein is beautiful and has almost a golden undertone to it on my skin.  It did stain when I I swatched it wet, so be wary!  It’s like water in a jar.

Wake Not The Dead

Just looking at this shadow you can see how unique it is.  It’s a soft lilac full of almost mint sparks.  Then again, it sort of changes shades on you, so I have no idea what color those sparks actually are.

Raven’s Prophecy

It’s like Mardi Gras, full of purple and teal and gold sparks against a velvety black background.  The purple REALLY pops the most in the jar, the teal in my swatch.

Alchemist’s Curse

This looks orange.  It’s not.  Well, maybe it is but swatched it is full AMAZING rich velvetly purple sparkles against a black background.

Are You My Mummy?

As you can see, I actually managed to capture the shift in the pot.  From one angle it’s a bit of a dusty blue, from another, it’s a vibrant green!

Lustres

Coffin Velvet

When I unwrapped this tube I gasped.  It was such a vivid purple it was just unbelievable.  It’s a very rich and creamy shade.

Sweetest Poison

If you buy one red lip color this year, it should be Sweetest Poison.

They also reformulated Steampunk.

I have no idea when these shades will be released.  Fyrinnae never make ‘announcements’, rather they quietly slip things into the shop calmly.  They tend to like to keep on top of things, which I greatly admire, instead of creating a panicked rush.  That being said, yes, I was sent this set free, not for ‘review’ but as a thank you.  I am of course reviewing it because OMG, how could I not?

Book of the Dead and Purgatory

Bride of Frankenstein and Are You My Mummy?

Raven’s Prophecy, Alchemist’s Curse, and Wake Not the Dead

Steampunk and Dorian Grey

What do you think?

55 Responses to “Fyrinnae – The Halloween Collection 2011”

  1. *mouth falls open*

    I have never ordered from Fyrinnae before. I think it’s time. I ‘need’ all of these. Except Steampunk, because it’s the wrong kind of brown for me.

  2. Gorgeous shades!!

  3. I can’t stop staring at Raven’s Prophecy!

  4. Omg! Can’t wait to order them!!! I always loved their shades and I think this collection will not be an exception ❤ ❤ ❤

  5. I’ll be ordering several of these. They’re gorgeous!

  6. Thank you! I have been anxiously waiting for this collection to arrive (and the shop to open) ever since they blogged about doing new colours for Halloween. I’ll spend the following days clicking the ‘refresh’ button on their site. 🙂

  7. Wow, I need those in my life!

  8. Raven’s prophecy, Steampunk, Dorian Gray and Sweetest poison are my favourite.
    I loved Fyrinnae, their eyeshadows were among the first MMU that I tried and it breaks my heart that they don’t ship to my country anymore.

  9. Purgatory is calling me name. Well purgatory the shadow not actual purgatory..at least I hope not. Ahh Raven’s Prophecy is just soo glittery and amazing! Coffin Velvet looks great I love a vibrant purple on the lips! Must order soon!

  10. AMAZING! Fyrinnae never disappoints! There are so many of these I want! Excellent swatches.

  11. They look amazing, and you have absolutely no idea how happy I am to see a return of the lip lustres!

  12. Asdfghjkl.
    Just yesterday (or was it the day before? They kind of blended together) I was on their site updating my list of wanted colors (did you know Javan Rhino isn’t on the site anymore?! I ALMOST HAD A FIT). Preeetty sure that Mummy? is going on that list.

  13. those colors are stunning! I think that that Halloween collection will have to be my first purchase from them. Grey, you’re right, they must be aliens. No human can craft something that wonderous!

  14. Oh hell .< coffin velvet looks just amazing and OMG raven's prophecy!! =O I think anyone and everyone at Fyrinnae is a magical wizard. Magical wizards who make magical makeup. Mystery solved.

  15. Wow gorgeous. Are you my mummy is my favorite but I also want Steampunk & Dorian Grey (and would like to try pairing it with each seperately). Ravens Prophecy is amazing & I need Purgatory. They are all so fantastic & knowing Fyrinnae so much more than amazing in person too. I also have been wanting to try the lustres & Coffin Velvet is gonna be my first lol.
    Thanks for sharing Grey!

  16. Can’t live without Ravens Prophecy!

  17. Love! Do want! Fantastic swatches 🙂

  18. Well, I guess I’ll be placing another Fyrinnae order very soon, won’t I? I just ordered in Friday, too.

  19. So tempted… especially by Coffin Velvet. That looks like it’s show up well and be a stark contrast against my pale skin.

  20. YES. Just yes. Need to order. Now.

  21. Oh my so many beautiful colors!!! My faves are Wake Not The Dead, Dorian Grey and Raven’s Prophecy! I may have to place an order soon!!!!

  22. Raven’s Prophecy and Dorian Grey are calling out to me. They’re gorgeous.

  23. Oh sweet jeebus … Wake Not the Dead, Raven’s Prophecy, and Steampunk look INSANELY gorgeous … and I reallllly want to see those lustres on someone’s lips before I decide, but I am leaning towards BUY ALL THE THINGS

  24. I have been wearing Sweetest Poison since I unwrapped it yesterday. The sparkles in it are divine.

    I’m a red girl, so I thought Purgatory would be me favorite, but Raven’s Prophecy is just gorgeous. I keep trying to capture it on camera but can’t. Everything is so complex and sparkly it’s insane. I keep opening the package and squeeing.

    Everyone needs all of it. ALL OF IT.

  25. I love book of the dead and steampunk!!! They are all just beautiful though.

  26. I do like fyrinnae’s colors, especially the arcanes. I just have so much trouble using loose eyeshadow without making a huge mess. I suppose I ought to press them so I actually use them. Raven’s Prophecy is probably my favorite out of this set.

  27. I looooove them….can’t wait for these to be released. I think I want all of the above 🙂

  28. Zoooooooooooooooooink!!!!! :O Gorgeous swatches!!!!

  29. OH WOW. I would love all of these! I can’t even believe I’m tempted by the glosses because I am not a lip person. I completely can be now however.

  30. Hooray, new lip lustres! I can’t wait for these to be released, Purgatory looks amazing!

  31. I need these in my life! Especially Dorian Gray and Wake Not The Dead *drool*

  32. You just showed two lip lustres. They’re coming back then!? YEEESSSS!!

  33. ….I want everything @_____________@ holy crap

  34. Wow, I need EVERYTHING.

  35. Love. It. all.

  36. These look amazing, as always from Fyrinnae. I missed the lustres a lot. Wake Not The Dead reminds me of my favourite Fyrinnae eyeshadow, Meerkat.

  37. I think I might actually die if I don’t get them 😦

  38. I literally gasped at the swatch photo of Alchemist’s Curse. SO BEAUTIFUL. I need everything here — though maybe not Coffin Velvet because the colour looks daunting (though it is gorgeous, just not for me). I can’t wait for these to be available!

  39. Purgatory is crazy looking. I love it. I personally can’t pull off shades like that, but I sure can admire them.

  40. Oh wow, I need Sweetest Poison in my life. I love their lustres and own a handful and have been so sad that they aren’t on the site anymore. I’ve been wanting to make another order and as soon as these go up, I will!

  41. Raven’s prophecy looks amazing. Sadly, I’m not allowing myself to buy any new makeup this month. Possible exception if I can find some white face paint and powder that doesn’t make me break out. This is unlikely.

  42. I’m salivating over those shadows!!! Absolutely GORGEOUS… The earthy & dark colors are perfect for Fall looks.

  43. Did they sell out or something? First they had a filler saying “be back 10/5” and now its back to “we will be back soon”. I is sad 😦

  44. OMG NEED ALL OF IT

  45. Wake Not the Dead, Steam Punk, and Sweetest Poison are must haves!

  46. I think I need every single one of those colours!

  47. …Wow!..These are all wonderful!

  48. I am really new to indie make-up and I need a little help. Is there a way to see Fyrinnae’s shadows by collection?

    • They organize the site by shade and by finish. If you’re looking for a specific color, you can search the site!

  49. Definitely WANT all of these! Thanks for the introduction to Fyriannae! Another place to be sure to empty my bank account! LOL!

  50. I can’t seem to find the Raven’s Prophecy shade anywhere on their site. @___@;; did they remove it for good? Or just ran out?