Creepy Ladies of Literature – Part 1

Katrina Van Tassel

“Among the musical disciples who assembled, one evening in each week, to receive his instructions in psalmody, was Katrina Van Tassel, the daughter and only child of a substantial Dutch farmer. She was a blooming lass of fresh eighteen; plump as a partridge; ripe and melting and rosy cheeked as one of her father’s peaches, and universally famed, not merely for her beauty, but her vast expectations. She was withal a little of a coquette, as might be perceived even in her dress, which was a mixture of ancient and modern fashions, as most suited to set off her charms.”

Depicted with long blonde locks of the lightest shade, large seductively innocent eyes and a tempting flush, Katrina Van Tassel is the sweetest part of Sleepy Hallow. And for this look, Grey and I were thinking the same thing: lots of pink, very soft but still very alluring in a slightly creepy way.

For this look, you want more of a natural glow so first apply a tinted moisturizer to your skin with your fingers. I used Urban Decay Cosmetics’ Urban Defense Tinted Moisturizer in Halo. Then, to get a little more coverage, apply concealer to problem areas and then set it all with a mineral foundation. I used MAC Cosmetics’ Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20 and Geek Chic Cosmetics’ Mineral Foundation in Ivory.

If you have any trouble understanding the following eye look instructions, use this image below for reference.

You want to start by applying your favorite eyeshadow primer to your lids AND overtop your eye brows. I used Detrivore Cosmetics’ White Eyeshadow Primer. It’s best to use a light tinted primer as this will help fade the color of your brows a bit, but it’s not a necessity.

Next, take a light, sparkly baby pink colored eyeshadow and pat it on to the inner part of your eye, bringing the color down a bit in the inner corner and up a bit into the crease. I used Shiro Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in Clefairy. Then, take a peach/pink color and apply it to the rest of your lid, blending it in slightly with the light pink.

This shadow should be darker than the baby pink and preferably with a peach tone to it. I used Detrivore Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in Maw. You also want to blend this color out past the shape of your eye so it fades into your skin around where your eyebrow ends and brush a little under your lower lash line. For the crease, you want to lightly apply a warm raspberry colored eyeshadow, blending it in thoroughly so as to create only a subtle shadow. Bring this color down closer to the inner corner of your eye and stop before you read the end of the crease. Also smudge some under your lower lash line to create more of a shadow there as well. I used Inglot Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in AMC 74. Now for a neat little trick! Pat on a color lighter than your skin tone to the center of your lid. (Note: make sure this color is lighter than the peach/pink used.) You want to press it on and wiggle it side to side to create a distinctive shape with slightly faded edges. Adding this color to the center of your lid brightens your eyes and makes them look bigger because light will reflect off it more. Also use this color, to fill your eyebrows in. I suggest using a light brown first to define the shape, then apply the light color over-top to lighten your brows. I used Inglot Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in Matte 352. I also brushed this color down the bridge of my nose to make it appear a bit slimmer. Finally, apply several layers of volumizing mascara to both your upper & lower lashes and then line your waterline with a white eyeliner pencil. I used Benefit Cosmetics’ They’re Real! Mascara and Detrivore’s White Eyeshadow primer (applied with my ring finger tip) as liner.

For your cheeks, first apply a shimmery peach blush to your cheeks, bring the color up along your cheek bones. I used Detrivore Cosmetics’ Mineral Blush in Thing. Then, using the sparkly baby pink eyeshadow above (in my case, Clefairy), dust a little to the apples of your cheeks.

For your lips, apply a shimmery peachy pink lipstick. I used Reverie Cosmetics’ Luxe Lips Tube Lipstick in She Sells (this is my company and I will be launching spring next year), and then topped it with Morgana Cryptoria’s Lipstick in Sunset Peach.

And you’re done!

Products Used

Face

Urban Decay Cosmetics Urban Defense Tinted Moisturizer in Halo
MAC Cosmetics Pro Longwear Concealer in NW20
Geek Chic Cosmetics Mineral Foundation in Ivory
Detrivore Cosmetics Mineral Blush in Thing
Shiro Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Clefairy

Eye

Detrivore Cosmetics White Eyeshadow Primer
Shiro Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Clefairy
Detrivore Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Maw
Inglot Cosmetics Eyeshadow in AMC 74 and Matte 352
Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! Mascara

Lips

Reverie Cosmetics Luxe Lips Tube Lipstick in She Sells
Morgana Cryptoria Lipstick in Sunset Peach

Click to embiggen.

23 Responses to “Creepy Ladies of Literature – Part 1”

  1. This is a beautiful and subtle way to wear pinks. I really like it! 🙂

  2. I think I may have to try this look out for myself.

  3. I love the color you achieved by layering lipsticks. It reminds me a bit of Fyrinnae’s Devil Horns lustre, only less “in your face bright”, if that makes any sense.

  4. Oooh, I love the way you partialize the eye area!

  5. The eye chart arrives! I love how you separated the eye area on a real picture as well, it helps me figure out how to edit for my own eye shape. And I can really see which colors of my own closely match the colors you used.

    Lovely look! It’s sometimes hard to use pinks and not look like a little girl or super punk, this is romantic and fun. Thanks for the inspiration!

  6. My favorite part is the lipstick! Any chance of getting the Reverie Cosmetics’ Luxe Lips Tube Lipstick in She Sells before the company opens??

    • Haha! I wish 🙂 No, sadly it’ll be a while til I launch as I am moving to Hawaii! AWESOME but a huge undertaking, thus the wait. Keep an eye out in early spring though 😉

  7. Oooh. I love the idea of the skin tone color in the middle of the lid. It looks fantastic!

  8. I like how that blush looks on her, and the pinks are really complimentary to her skin tone. But the look seems… unfinished to me without eyeliner.

  9. Oooooh. So pretty! I love pinks and this is a nice new way to wear them! I’ve been wearing a pink and grey look for a while now.

  10. I don’t like pink normally, but this is really nice! (And, y’know, sleepy.) The gradient from the middle of the lid to the crease is preeeeetty.
    They’re Real! is calling for me to try it. Eeeeek. And the wig reminds me of when I can be arsed to brush my hair ever (never).

  11. This is amazing! I wish I could layer so many colours like that.

  12. Yay Erin! My favourite thing about this look, other than the prettiness of it, is the eye placement diagram. I swear one day I will figure out placements on my own, but until then, diagrams! Woot!

  13. I like this look. Ill have to try to rework this but with eyeliner because on me personally makeup just doesnt look right without eyeliner.

  14. LOVE the diagram. Thanks!

  15. I love it! Thanks for including the face charts and diagram — definitely helps!

  16. I really love this look I loove all the different shades of pink used! I love how your brown eyes pop!

  17. How awesome are these charts?

    I have to try this, I have a bunch of pink shadows and have never come up with a good way to wear them.

  18. I really really love the color placement for the eyes on this. Gorgeous!

  19. I love it, and great chart!

  20. Erin – you have officially converted me into a fan of peachy pink. I’m already mentally preparing to go through several indie cosmetic shops to hunt down the perfect shade. Gorgeous tutorial, as always.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Halloween Extravaganza ’11 Guest Post @ Gothique: Katrina Van Tassel « The Pretty Exclusive. - October 10, 2011

    […] Click here to head over to Gothique to see the makeup look inspired Katrina Van Tassel! […]

  2. Chloe - October 11, 2011

    I really love this! I’ve been reading all your posts!