Creepy Ladies of Literature – Part 2

“It was many and many a year ago,
In a kingdom by the sea,
That a maiden there lived whom you may know
By the name of Annabel Lee;
And this maiden she lived with no other thought
Than to love and be loved by me.”

The haunting tale of Annabel Lee by Edgar Allen Poe is one of love and loss. Taken by jealous angels, Annabel Lee may sit in a tomb by the sea but she will forever be part of her lover’s soul, never forgotten and always loved. After reading it, I can see how it is one of Grey’s favorites. The poem is beautiful in a twisted way because of the narrator’s obsessive love with Annabel. Even though she is dead, he is unable to let go of the love they had. Now that is devotion! For this look, Grey wanted it to be cold and icy, as Annabel is forever shut in a “sepulchre there by the sea.” But there is also a song by Tiger Army that was inspired by the poem, so she also wanted it rockabilly influenced. So this is what I came up with: frosty blues, sharp winged eyes and cool red lips.

First, apply your favorite foundation and cover any blemishes or under eye circles with concealer. I used Make Up For Ever’s HD Foundation in 115 and MAC Cosmetics’ Studio Finish Concealer in NW15.

Next, let’s tackle the eyes. If you have any trouble following these instructions, use the eye image below for reference.

Start by applying your favorite eyeshadow primer all of your eye lids. I used Detrivore Cosmetics’ White Eyeshadow Primer. Then using a sturdy eyeshadow brush, take a slightly blue tinted bright white eyeshadow and pat it to the inner corner of your eye. You want to bring the color in about halfway across your main lid and then out under your lower lash line. I used (and recommend) Geek Chic Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in Element Zero. Next, take a sparkly light blue and apply it to the other half of your lid, blending it slightly where the two colors meet and along the upper edge. I used Shiro Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in Nayru’s Love. With a fluffy brush, blend a little bit of a light brown eyeshadow (preferably with an interesting finish) into your crease to warm up and define the eye a little. I used Geek Chic Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in All the Rage.

To line your eyes, you want to foil a rich metallic blue eyeshadow. ‘Foiling’ is a term used to describe the mixing of water (or another cosmetic, eye-safe liquid) and a loose shadow or pigment. This results in a darker color and a fantastic eyeliner. Using an thin angled brush, apply the foiled shadow like eyeliner along your upper lash line, bringing it out to a sharp point just past the bottom tip of your eyebrow. I used Morgana Cryptoria’s Eyeshadow in Mystic Midnight and fresh, clean water to foil.

Next, mix a little of the rich metallic blue shadow with your light brown shadow to fill in your brows. Make the shape a bit more rounded to keep with the rockabilly theme of the look. Finish up the eyes by adding a little white to your water line (either with a white eyeliner pencil or, in my case, the white eyeshadow primer from Detrivore) and then pack on a few layers of mascara to your upper lashes only. I used Benefit Cosmetics’ They’re Real! Mascara.

For blush, apply a cooler toned rose color to the apples of your cheeks. I used a mixture of Fyrinnae’s Eyeshadow in Sakura with Detrivore Cosmetic’s Mineral Blush in Gallows.

For your lips, first apply a cool or more blue toned red lipstick. I used Tarte Cosmetic’s True Blood LipSurgence Lip Tint. Then, take your light blue eyeshadow (MAKE SURE IT’S LIP SAFE) and mix it with a red tinted lipgloss. I used a little of Nayru’s Love and mixed it with Geek Chic Cosmetics’ Geek Gloss in Health Potion.

And that’s it!

Products Used

Face

Make Up For Ever HD Foundation in 115
MAC Cosmetics Studio Finish Concealer in NW15
Fyrinnae Eyeshadow in Sakura
Detrivore Cosmetic Mineral Blush in Gallows

Eyes

Detrivore Cosmetics White Eyeshadow Primer
Geek Chic Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Element Zero and All the Rage
Shiro Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Nayru’s Love
Morgana Cryptoria Eyeshadow in Mystic Midnight
Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! Mascara

Lips

Tarte Cosmetic for True Blood LipSurgence Lip Tint
Shiro Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Nayru’s Love
Geek Chic Cosmetics Geek Gloss in Health Potion

Click to embiggen.

15 Responses to “Creepy Ladies of Literature – Part 2”

  1. WOW. This look is KILLER. ❤

  2. Oh wow. Gorgeous. Blue’s my favorite color.
    Side note: that’s my favorite poem by Poe, and it made me squee just a little bit seeing the lines up there.

  3. Erin did an amazing job with this look. I am really enjoying this series of looks a lot.

  4. I am always so nervous to use any pale blues, because so many preteens slather it on for eyeshadow. This look, however, looks amazing! I’ll have to try it.

  5. That eyeliner is amazing, I’m going to have to try it out sometime. Just in a different color, blues are less than awesome on my skin tone 🙂

    I have to admit, Annabel Lee makes me think more of muted greys than blues!

  6. This is just gorgeous. I especially like the bit of light brown just above the blue in the crease. I’m not as much of a fan of the super-long wing of the eyeliner; I wish it had been a bit shorter.

  7. I actually did something reminiscent of this a couple days ago (in shape; I used purple)! I love it in blue, too.

  8. I freaking love this. A bit too stylized for my face as is, but I adore it nonetheless!

  9. Very ethereal! So happy you included those charts. 😀

  10. I love Tiger Army and I am loving this look! Very Poe.

  11. Poe and Rockabilly? Could this get any better?

    I’m always a little nervous about blue shadows (though I own several) because of…well…the 80’s…and every teeny bopper ever. But I have blue eyes so they can really work on me too. I have worn it for Halloween before and I wish I’d had this chart then.

  12. OH WOW. I’m always nervous about blue eyeshadow, but this is an amazing look. And that I love the inspiration doesn’t help either.

  13. Absolutely gorgeous. I love your face charts and instructions too!

  14. Wow this is lovely!! The wing is just killer.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Halloween Extravaganza ’11 Guest Post @ Gothique – Annabel Lee « The Pretty Exclusive. - October 18, 2011

    […] Click here to see my look inspired by Annabel Lee over at Gothique! […]