A Morbid Halloween

I had the good fortune to have been sent a couple of TMTM new Halloween scents to try.

Geist – Wraith

Wispy purple flowers, creamy vanilla, 3 pale musks, and sweet lemon tea.

This is so soft, so pretty.  It’s very delicate.  The slight tang of lemon pops up every now and then and adds a bit of depth to the scent that you don’t expect.  It’s a wonderful blend and not at all cloying, the vanilla is subtle.

Quote the Raven

Fruit orchards, a sharp spike of clove, and the remnants of chimney smoke on dirty wings.

I usually like to note my first reaction when I smell a new perfume.  My exact words when I opened this one was, “Holy… Yes!”  You can smell it a dozen times and get a different impression every time.  I swear I smell creamy vanilla.  The spike of clove is great and I love it.  My favorite notes in perfume tend to be odd.  Leather.  Smoke.  Dirt.  Bergamot.  This has two of the four and it’s a unique combination.

Little Drop of Poison

Dragon’s blood, plump dark berries and red wine barely conceal a rich, resinous and very poisonous base.

This is so thick.  So heady.  It’s much richer then I’m used to, but it’s just amazing.  The berries somehow lighten the dragon’s blood, pull it away from being hippy and turn it into something elegant.  I want to say it’s like a decadent fruit dessert.

Have you tried TMTM yet?  Do you have a favorite scent?

TMTM is having a sale at the moment, buy two full sized fragrances get a third free!

19 Responses to “A Morbid Halloween”

  1. I haven’t tried anything from TMTM yet, but this makes me want to. Little Drop of Poison sounds exactly like the type of “sweet” smell that I would like. We have super similar tastes (smells?) in scents, so Quote the Raven looks like something I really, really need to try.

  2. Ooohh I’ve been thinking about buying Quote the Raven and I was hoping you’d do a review of that scent! I’m off to go shopping!

  3. Little Drop of Poison sounds amazing!

  4. I just got my order in the mail yesterday! I love them!

    I love Quoth the Raven but my fav of this collection is Thorn for sure, But I haven’t got We All Float Down Here yet. 🙂

  5. Dessert Absinthe is the first scent I got, and while I thought I was in love… I realized once I received my Halloween package from the contest I won, and leaving the scents choice up to Lysa to decide for me, that I’d have a passionate affair with Thorn forever after once I opened the bottle. Although, The Horseman was also included in my package- I’ve been wearing it just as often as Thorn, but more frequently at night. I drift off to sleep smelling The Horseman!
    This is now my absolute favorite scents shop, and I’ll most likely have to keep Lysa in business because I want Thorn available to me forever.

  6. I really want to try TMTM but I haven’t ordered from any of the online perfume shops because I am worried about not liking the scents once I get them. They sound good, but I just am nervous.

  7. They have been on my list for a while. Quote the Raven sounds absolutely wonderful and yummy for winter as does Little Drop of Poison. That is if it ever gets below 70 degrees here in Los Angeles. I am craving the cold so I can wear these yummy scents without that damn heat making me feel like I am a melting dessert.

  8. TMTM is one of my favourite indie perfumers ever, if not my absolute favourite. :3 I got the new halloween fragrances as soon as they came out, and my favourite is Raven, but Little Drop of Poison and Diablo are close behind. I couldn’t tell you which TMTM scent I like best on the whole, but I wear Maximo a lot, and last Valentine’s Day collection was amazing. ❤

  9. I love Delina and Voix De Ville. I want to try Quoth The Raven (because it makes me think of Pratchett, not Poe, and I don’t think that there’s any Discworld collection in the world of MMU and indie perfume) and Goblin just for the names. I don’t know if I’ll be able to get them though, it depends on how long they’ll be available and I can’t find the info on her blog or etsy shop. I hate being broke just when I need money most – for Halloween collections and Christmas gifts.

    • I bought samples of Quoth the Raven (just because of Pratchett’s character too! I wish there was one for the Death of Rats, though), Goblin, and Fiend, and it was only 7$ for the three samples. It said in the listing for the scents I bought that the Halloween stuff is going to be gone after Halloween. I’m not sure if that has changed, but I’d recommend picking them up soon if you want to try them.

  10. Wraith sounds like my kind of thing. I’ve been looking since I read about the sale, and I’m so torn between a few of them, it’s hard to choose. XD

  11. My favorites are Horseman, Brom and Agatha. It’s so hard to find lilac perfumes that smell like lilac and not generic floral blah, Agatha is perfection. Horseman is my all time favorite, I love it even more than the old Black Widow perfume.

  12. Britt von strange October 19, 2011 at 6:20 pm

    I really want to try TMTM perfume you make it sound so great!

  13. Quote the Raven sounds so lovely ❤ I'm trying to keep my perfume collection low, don't tempt me!!

  14. I’m being tempted by Romero from their Halloween collection despite my having so much perfume.

    Lysa threw in a sample of Dessert Absinthe for me when I enquired about it the last time I ordered lip balms, which were divine. I haven’t tried it yet but look forward to doing so.

  15. Ha, you actually picked up the two scents I wanted to try myself! I’m glad that you gave them positive reviews (Poison and Wraith). For the free scent I chose Ichabod, which sounds like an amazing winter scent. Every perfume I’ve gotten from Lyssa has been amazing so I’m sure I’m going to love the ones I purchased. I can’t wait to get them

  16. Wow! The labels on these are adorable. The full sized Eau de Parfums are gorgeous too. I looked through the etsy shop and was disappointed to find very few scents with sandalwood as its my favorite note. I might sample some.

  17. I love Lysa’s fragrances and have ordered quite a few of them, both from her TMTM and Odditoria lines, Athelia and Edgar being probably ones of my favourite perfumes of all time. However, there is one thing that puts me off ordering from her these days (even though I’m dying to!): a few months ago, while she was having one of her “buy two, get three” sales, I bought two and only two I got. She never responded to my (polite) message, and that’s the least she should have done in such case. I order from Poland; maybe that’s part of the problem (overseas packages, I mean), even though I can’t really see why. Anyway, it makes me a bit sad – she would have had a loyal customer and fan in me..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Boo! | Gothique - October 26, 2011

    […] I wasn’t sure what I wanted to match this with perfume wise.  I have a LOT of amazing Halloween scents on my desk right now (literally, I have my PA, OHWTO, and OMG packages sitting here).  I went with Geist, from TMTM. […]