Book of Shadows – A Review

Ordering

I caught the link to the Book of Shadows shop on my Twitter feed, thanks to Tempestina.

The pictures were very clear as were the descriptions I was pretty confident in ordering.  I also surfed through their feedback (a must these days) and didn’t see anything alarming.

I ordered :

Halloween Makeup Eyeshadow Palette – Friday the 13th

Shipping

I paid $3.50 for shipping.  I ordered on the 17th and it arrived on the 20th.

Packaging

My palette was well packaged and came double wrapped in a regular envelope. Inside was a business card.

Product

This is really cute.  It’s basically a thin little hallow book with magnets in the corner to keep it shut.  It’s fairly sturdy, but since they are made from paper and cardboard, I’m not sure they’d hold up well to professional abuse (in and out of cases, rubbed against a bunch of other thing, etc etc).  They are really nifty for personal use, though.  They’re not all that heavy.

They measure 7″ x 4.5″ x 1/2″H with magnet area (inside square) 5 7/8″ x 3 3/4″. It fit pan up to 5 mm high.

The inside of the palette itself is magnetic so you don’t need to worry about finding little magnets to stick on the back of your depots, which is a HUGE plus for me!  I’ve got some of my bigger Cargo depots in there now, and having them out of the clunky tin and in one slim place is really nice.  I’ve carried the thing around in my purse a bit, and it didn’t flop open.  Shaking it it might not stay shut, but the magnet inside is so strong the pans don’t fall out.

Would I order from Book of Shadows again? Yes!

✔  The price were really affordable.

✔  The palette was very nicely made.

✔  It shipped super quick!

Price: 5/5

Packaging: 5/5

Shipping: 5/5

Product: 5/5

Customer Service: n/a

Overall: /5

8 Responses to “Book of Shadows – A Review”

  1. So cute! I just ordered one 😉

  2. I just ordered one too, since I want to start depotting my makeup.. The company’s designs are lovely so it took me a few minutes to choose the one I wanted.

  3. So adorbz!! I’ve been meaning to buy a freestyle palette… this might just be the one for me 😀

  4. I love the designs on this! Cute cute!

  5. These are adorable! I’d love to own a collection in different-but-coordinating prints for use in my kits. It would make grabbing the right palette at-a-glance so much easier, and I’m sure a coat of sealant like ModPodge would make them kosher enough for kit use. Oh, and since you didn’t mention it, in case anyone is wondering, they’re currently listed at $12.99 🙂

  6. Awesome! My z-palette is cardboard and it stands up to kit abuse, so I’m sure that this one would work too. When I need another one (soon lol) I will order from them, considering how much I paid for my z-palette, despite the hugeness.

  7. Oh wow! I love the designs she is offering right now for Halloween. I might have to pick a few up depending on how much spending money I have after rent is paid. 🙂

  8. Amanda MacKenzie October 25, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Thank you for reviewing this shop. I’ve been cautious with my Etsy shopping as of late given all the controversies that have been surrounding it, so it’s nice to know that this shop is worthwhile! I’ve been wanting a freestyle magnetic pallet for months (I have a lot of loose eyeshadow that I’ve been meaning to press for travel) and this gave me the inspiration to go ahead and order one!