Creepy Ladies of Literature – Part 3

“One of God’s women, fashioned by His own hand to show us men and other women that there is a heaven where we can enter, and that its light can be here on earth. So true, so sweet, so noble. . . .”

Mina Murray (or Harker, if you will) is described as the ultimate Victorian woman. Not the most not noteworthy for her physical beauty, Mina is a schoolmistress who, while always trying to be useful to her husband, is still a resourceful and intelligent woman. In the novel, Mina recovers from Dracula’s curse. However, in many modern day adaptations, she is shown as having succumbed to his influence and is transformed into a vampire. I am a fan of the latter interpretation of the character. So with her pure Victorian sensibilities in mind (but also the idea that she’s not really the woman she seems to be), Grey and I came up with this very grey toned look that hints to the time period but also has a modern bite.

First, don’t start with foundation. The colors we’ll be using are a bit darker so if you get any fallout on your cheeks, its easier to remove (as you don’t have to worry about retouching) without foundation. Instead, let’s start with the eyes.

If you have any trouble following these instructions, use the eye image below for reference.

Apply an eyeshadow primer all over your lids. I used Too Faced Shadow Insurance. Then, with a sturdy brush, apply a frosty purple grey color all over your lid, staying under the crease but also bringing a bit of the color down under your lower lash line. I used Kat Von D at Sephora Eyeshadow in Galeano (from the Beethoven True Romance Palette). I ADORE this color and totally recommend it.

Next take a frosty dark grey color and brush it into your crease. You want to keep the color towards the inner part of your eye so that its darkest near your tear duct and then fade it out before you reach the end of your lid. Also add a little dark grey (or light handedly apply a soft black) eyeshadow in the curve between your crease and the bridge of your nose. I used Inglot Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in Pearl 454 and then a little of Kat Von D at Sephora Eyeshadow in Lucifer (also from the Beethoven Palette). Also smudge some of your frosty dark grey (in my case Pearl 454) along your lower lash line. Bring the color all the way across the bottom of your eye, blending it down a bit to create a smokey look.

For the liner, first you want to smudge some light grey eyeshadow along your upper lash line. I used Stake from the Tarte Cosmetics for True Blood palette. Next, using an angled brush, line your waterline with the dark grey (or soft black; I used Lucifer), bringing it to a sharp point a few centimeters past your lid. Then, under the first line (and beginning at the outer corner of your eye) gently draw another small flick. Make it every so slightly longer than the first line. Also smudge a little of this color under the outer part of your lower lashes. Finish up by lining all of your waterline with a black kohl eyeliner and then apply several layers of mascara to both your upper and lower lashes. I used Prestige Cosmetics’ Kohl Liner in Black and Benefit Cosmetics’ They’re Real! Mascara.

For your brows, you want the shape to be thin and sharp. I filled them with Werewolf from the Tarte Cosmetics for True Blood palette with an angled brush.

Now it’s time for the rest of the face. Apply your favorite foundation and then some concealer to any blemishes or under eye circles. I used Lancôme Cosmetics’ Tient Miracle Foundation in Ivoire 2 and Vichy Deramblend Foundation (as concealer) in Porcelain. For my lips and cheeks, apply a dark red stain. I used DuWop Cosmetics’ Twilight Lip Venom. I know, I know, real vampires don’t sparkle but it is such a lovely, versatile color, I had to use it. 😉 For the most even color, swipe a little on the tips of your middle and ring finger and pat on to the apples of your cheeks. For your lips, swipe the applicator over top and use your ring finger to blend it in.

Lastly, it’s time for an interesting gloss. First, squeeze out a bit of a light mauve/rose colored lipgloss on to the back of your hand. I used Urban Decay’s Lip Junkie Lipgloss in Wallflower. Then, with a lip brush, mix in some sparkly loose silver eyeshadow. Make SURE that it is lip-safe as not all eyeshadow ingredients are approved for the lips. I used Geek Chic Cosmetics’ Eyeshadow in Purity Burns. Apply the gloss mixture to your lips with a lip brush and you’re done!

Products Used
Face

Lancôme Cosmetics Tient Miracle Foundation in Ivoire 2
Vichy Deramblend Foundation in Porcelain
DuWop Cosmetics Twilight Lip Venom

Eyes

Too Faced Shadow Insurance
Kat Von D at Sephora Eyeshadow in Galeano and Lucifer (from the Beethoven True Romance Palette)
Inglot Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Pearl 454
Tarte Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Stake and Werewolf (from the tarte for True Blood palette)
Prestige Cosmetics Kohl Liner in Black
Benefit Cosmetics They’re Real! Mascara

Lips

DuWop Cosmetics Twilight Lip Venom
Urban Decay Cosmetics Lip Junkie Lipgloss in Wallflower
Geek Chic Cosmetics Eyeshadow in Purity Burns

Click to embiggen.

15 Responses to “Creepy Ladies of Literature – Part 3”

  1. Yes! My favorite lady AND grey eyeshadow which I’ve been obsessing over since the weather started turning. I’m so excited to try this one. I may be using this for my airship pirate costume which is slightly Victorian so that counts, right? 😉

  2. this look makes your eyes huge, but not too sharply lined, which is neat. It sort of has a Tim Burton’s Corpse bride feel to it, it makes me want to dress up as Victoria. Also loving that this lip color isn’t too dark, which is great for people like me who have bigger lips and don’t want to overwhelm the eyes.

    I love all these looks on here, although they are making me want to buy new eye shadow which is not in my budget 😦

  3. Amazing. This is my favourite Creepy ladies of literature look so far.

  4. I’m with @Violet, this is my favourite look from this series. I love the greys!

  5. InGhostlyCompany October 24, 2011 at 4:43 pm

    Beautiful! Makes me want to wear these colours, even though I don’t usually like them.

  6. This is my favorite from the series so far. I love purples and greys, and yay for Mina!

  7. Agree with everyone else. This is definitely my favorite look of the series. It’s probably because of my personal love/weakness for the colors used, though.

  8. Love this! It’s my favorite from the series. It’s truly gorgeous 🙂

  9. This is my favourite look so far as well. I love the greys.

  10. This is my favorite from the series as well. This one is a HOME RUN for me! Love it!

  11. I love the idea of using all one softer color like this – the contrasts really show through. Very mysterious looking.

  12. thebirdofparadise October 25, 2011 at 11:32 am

    I would be satisfied if I could wear this look evert day for the rest of my life. So pretty. I love the color Grey. I even have a child with a name based on the word!

  13. I love this! I love the colors you use. and this look is great on you! Makes me really wish I had a costume party to go to :/ lol

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mina | Gothique - October 26, 2011

    […] You can see Erin’s look here. […]