Mina

“Do you believe in destiny?

That even the powers of time can be altered for a single purpose?

That the luckiest man who walks on this earth is the one who finds… true love? “

The Inspiration

When I was in high school I used to hang out at this coffee place with this guy from Romania and play chess.  During the day I was this perky blond girl on the pom-pom squad, but by night I had this dark side I explored.

I first read Dracula when I was in 8th grade and it instantly fostered a love of all things immortal and morbid.  Soon after I read The Legend of Sleepy Hollow and then I was gone.  I devoured everything Anne Rice and actually based my choice of university programs on the fact that for a semester I could attend Tulane in NOLA.

Mina was the character that started it all.  She is why I am who I am.

The Makeup

You can see Erin’s look here.

The nails for this is easy, I used Salon Effects Polish Strips from Sally Hansen in Spun For You.  The look of this outfit is monochromatic, sticking with greys and blacks, otherwise I’d suggest a blood red polish.  I cheated with these, though, and applied them and then gelled over them so they’ve been on for the last two weeks without budging.

The scent gave me some pause.  Where the heck do you go with?  Sweet and innocent or dark and morbid? Yeah, I went towards morbid.  I chose a very soft blend from TMTM’s Odditoria line, Agatha (lilac, white tea, wood, vanilla).  I thought the wood was a good note, sort of coffin-like.  I was tempted to go with the obvious dirt or absinthe notes, but I like the scent I chose.

The Accessories

The standout there is the fascinator, which is very rich and goth and Victorian.  I ordered it a couple of years ago from StarzSelection on Etsy.  Set on a headband, you don’t need long hair to wear it.

Because it’s… creepy, I needed to include a spider.  This one is fairly simple and easy to make, although I cannot find the directions anymore.  You can put it just about anyplace, but I wear it like a traditional broach.  I went with the spider because of the spider web stockings I found that really perfect this look and tie the webs on the nails all together.

The ring was a COMPLETE surprise fond at Target of all places.  It’s huge and take up most of the knuckle and does have a ruby red gem set into it.  I just piled on a stack of simple beaded bracelets, since I wasn’t sure what else I wanted to do.  I ended up liking the simplicity of it.

To add a flair of almost Steampunk flavor, the buckled belt serves as a bit of a waist-cincher, although it is REALLY comfortable to wear since it’s all elastic.  I’ve had this for so long I don’t know for sure where I got it, but I’m thinking Forever 21.  Don’t hurt me.

The boots I stumbled across at Target a few seasons back.

The Rest

For my costume, I wore this with a prim white shirt and a black fishtail skirt.

For everyday, all you need to do is switch up a few things.  First, skip the stockings and the boots and go with something easy, of course I’d say Converse.  Pair the rest with a pair of old jeans and that same white shirt.  You could also skip the belt and the fascinator, if you think it’s too too.

15 Responses to “Mina”

  1. I love the entire look and the story behind it!

  2. I read “dentistry” rather than “destiny” 😐

    Now that I’m no longer confused about teeth, I must say I do like that look a lot!

  3. OOOOOHHH that ring ooooh that ring loooove it 🙂

  4. I think this is my favorite style diary so far–I love all the elements of it!

  5. Cute! That ring is a great find, too! 2 more years until Target comes across this side of the border. My favorite part though was the bit of Grey History in the beginning. I love reading stuff like that about people. Makes you realize just how many layers everyone has… even the blonde cheerleader ;).

  6. I read Dracula when I was 9 and had an intense goth phase until I was 11. But the love for all things dark stayed with me 🙂 .

  7. Favorite Style Diary thus far, definitely. That ring is amaaaze.

  8. I covet those shoes. Even though I know I’d never wear them, I WANT them. I have a minor boot obsession.

  9. InGhostlyCompany October 27, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    I love this so much!

  10. I love fascinators so much and that one is particularly lovely.

  11. I’m totally jealous of those Sally Hansen nail polish strips, they were all sold out of that pattern when I went to buy! I got the ghosties instead. Also, lots of love for those boots, they’re gorgeous.

  12. you were on the pom-pom squad? Srsly?

  13. I’m now reading Dracula. I thought I wasn’t too creeped out by it because I had no trouble turning off the light or anything, but I have had one nightmare so far xD Honestly though, the madman scares me more than Dracula, with the flies and spiders and … ughhhhh

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Witch Way? | Gothique - October 30, 2011

    […] that a costume is right when it’s not a costume and it’s just a realistic look, like my Mina collection.  To look real, it needs to look REAL, like nothing is out of the ordinary and the person sporting […]