Movember

The Inspiration

Eplefe challenged me to create a look for Movember.

During November each year, Movember is responsible for the sprouting of moustaches on thousands of men’s faces, in the US and around the world. With their Mo’s, these men raise vital funds and awareness for men’s health, specifically prostate cancer and other cancers that affect men.

I like mustachioed men.  My dad had a beard and a mustache, for a very long time as a kid I thought clean shaven men looked odd.

Let’s face it, men are known to be more indifferent towards their health, especially when compared to the efforts of women, who proactively and publicly address their health issues in a way not traditionally seen with men. As a result, today the levels of awareness, understanding and funding for support of male health issues, like prostate cancer, lag significantly behind causes such as breast cancer.


Men’s Health – Movember

The Makeup

Since this is a manly-man inspired look, what would be more perfect then Lisa Eldridge’s recent tutorial on boyish beauty?

I pulled out my trusty Inglot brow palette for this, but I couldn’t help myself.  I needed to add a touch of pink gloss.  I used my Jemma Kid gloss in Sassy.

Big Daddy is the perfect scent for this.  It was one of my original discoveries from OHWTO.  You could also use the newer Dude, but both are very man-stink.

Do you need nail polish for a men’s look?  I think yes, just to add a touch of femininity with the color I’ve chosen which is, ironically, a pale creamy pink called Raise Awareness from Essie.

The Accessories

The main focus of this look, for obvious reasons, is this necklace.  I got it ages ago on Etsy.  I try to stay away from literal interpretations when they err on the side of cliche, but this is a must.

I was thinking about using my favorite ‘golf hat‘, I wear this thing all the time, but it’s just not what I really think this ‘feels’ like.  Instead I found a nice slouchy grey knit hat, no fussing with your hair or anything.  It’s got a nice ‘bro’ vibe to it.  I’m fighting with myself to just let my hair grow out, so I’ve been wearing a lot of hats.  This was $4 at Target and comes in a bunch of different colors.

I went back and forth with HOW much menswear I wanted to include.  I was tempted to use cuff and a collar, but skipped it and just kept things simple.  I pulled together a bunch of plain hoop bracelets that will jingle on your wrist.

You could take this look one step further and ADD a mustache.  It’s pretty simple if you have a septum.

The Rest

To be on the safe side, I went with an argyle cardigan in grey and black.  I got mine from Target in the men’s department.  It’s way oversized so it’s best to wear it open over a very sexy little white tank, to bring in a little femininity.  It’s just form fitting enough and just covered enough that it’s not OVERTLY sexy, but comfortable.  As always, I picked my favorite jeans and Converse to complete everything.  I’m really into overssized cardigan’s this season, so you might see them in a SD again soon.

11 Responses to “Movember”

  1. You did great! I love the necklace so much. And I agree, I actually *still* think clean-shaven men look weird because dad’s always had a beard/moustache! At 58 now, he looks like this: http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/254311_10150259110386760_556641759_9292710_1172322_n.jpg.

    Go moustaches and men’s health awareness. And awesome cardigans. ^_^

  2. We used to call it “No Shave November” when I was in college. It was a way to include women as well, more on the line of a month bucking traditional beauty ideals. I’ve never needed an excuse to not shave my legs or armpits, though. 😉

    I also love your super secret disguise.

  3. My friends and I have been tweeting up a storm about, what we call, no shave November. It’s always one of my favorite months. My dad and brother both have beards and I tend to date guys that already have some lovely facial hair. Love that you posted about it. The tutorial video was also quite interesting. I’d never considered a chic boy look.

  4. I’m all about the bearded/mustachioed men. A few guys at my husband’s job are doing No Shave November, and he’s taking part in it as well. He used to have huge chops, and I’ve missed them since we’ve moved to a warmer climate.

  5. I never knew there were septum moustache piercings – thank you for introducing me to them 😀 !

  6. I was always under the impression that No Shave November was a college campus thing that people only got in on because of impending finals and too much work to do and not enough time to sleep let along for optional personal hygiene. When did that get turned into an awareness thing? I don’t foresee many of men in my grad program participating in this and it was never very popular in undergrad either. Most of my male friends would look ridiculous with anything more than a few days of stubble anyway, so that’s probably a good thing.

  7. Love it! Honestly, I’m not a fan of mustachioed men (except for a rare few, like Jack Layton). This androgynous look is awesome, though!

  8. Oh I love the cardigan, I love nearly all cardigans. Nothing makes me forget what the heck I’m shopping for like spotting a cardigan in a store. If I could only buy one piece of clothing for an entire year, it would be a cardigan. I would write odes to cardigans if I thought people wouldn’t judge me.

    I wear them more close fitting, because I’m bigger on top, an oversized top just makes me look like an apple on toothpicks!

  9. A lovely look! I am supporting “Movember” by asking all my friends on a game site to add a mustache to their avatars. It spreads the word, and its hilarious at the same time! Can’t beat that!

  10. Aww this is such a sweet idea, Movember is awesome 🙂