Midnight Gypsy Apothacary – A Review

Ordering

I found out about MGA from Becca in the most evil and enabling Facebook group EVER.  She had mentioned how she really liked she scents and when one perfumer recommends another, I tend to respect that and listen.

The branding of the shop is right up my alley.  It’s very dark and mysterious.  In the case of perfume, I don’t think that making a lot of pictures is necessary, it’s more about the scent description.  In this case they offered a very nicely done photo and a complete description, although there are the occasional liberties in spelling.  They offer ‘natural’ perfume.  From what I understand they use the actual oil and item in the perfume when they can instead of relying on a ‘scent’ oil.

My cousin placed a sample order first.  I ended up loving the samples I tried and then went back and placed a couple of orders when I could for some full sizes.  In the end I ordered:

Quill and Candle

Raven Spells

Autumn Embers

Season of the Witch

Chocolate Mystique

Shipping

Shipping costs $2.50 for the first item and then $.75 each additional item, so it was very reasonable.  My orders did take some time to arrive, but that is noted in the shop policies.

Please note all products are made fresh to order they are not mass produced. My perfume oil infusions are kepted on hand in small batches as the longer they sit the better the fragrance but they are NOT packaged and filled in their vials or roll on bottles until the day of your order nothing sits on a shelf until bought they too are prepared and made to order . This is to ensure that all arrives at your door freshly made 🙂

Packaging

Each time I received an order everything was magikally wrapped very creatively.  The perfume was wrapped carefully and included each time was a full information card about the scent and business cards.  IMO they have some very creative and wonderful packaging and each of the three orders was slightly different!  Loved it.

Products

These are some of the most complicated scents for me to describe because they all have notes that I’m unfamiliar with, like musks and resins.

The solid scents come in very generous sized tins that are labeled with the scent and company name.  The formula is a little hard, but warms up very nicely.  The oils come in what I’d call a ‘standard’ sized roller ball.

Quill and Candle

” Magickal ink, candle and quill, words come to life on the parchment I fill.”

Sweet yet wooded notes of smokey intrigue with undertones of exotic spice and fruit. A blend of clove, cardamom,black pepper and ginger essentials .Infused with a touch of rose absolute,apricot extract , coconut flakes , pepper corns, clove buds and real apricot fruit.

This was the first full sized that I ordered.  I picked it because I’m obsessed with cardamom scents recently.  The blend sounded amazing with rose and coconut and clove.

The first note I get when I wear this is the spice.  It’s deep and sharp, a mix of both the pepper and the clove.  Slowly under that the wood notes warm up and the fruit sort of wafts past every now and then.  It’s not strong at all, it’s much more a spice scent then anything else.

Raven Spells

“A spell to change form by the summer’s full moon light,pluck a feather from the raven to become one with the night”.

Captured is a bit of raven mystery in a special blend of dark violet floral spice and berries with essential oils of sensual sweet sandalwood,cassia, frankincense and orris root ,violet leaf absolute,infused with blackberry fruit extract, dragons blood resin,orris root ,real blueberries and apples. A complex potion sure to transform your mind as if it were an aromatic spell cast upon you.

I’m surprised I like this one, with all the musks.  I wanted to give it a shot because of the note of blueberries.  It’s gorgeous.  It’s far too complicated to explain, I’m not very good with resins and the like, but it’s a wonderful blend.  It reminds me of church incense and candles in a nave.  This scent sincerely brings back vivid memories of Notre Dame and what it smelled like when I first walked it.  It’s old, somehow.  Complex.

Autumn Embers

“A glowing fire in the cool night air and the crisp winds of Fall gently blowing though her hair . ”

A scent to capture the season of Fall in a bountiful blend of smokey, earth and leaf notes topped by candied spice created with ginger, spiced cassia, clove, bergamot,sage, and orange blossom essential oils delicatley infused with real ginger root , orange peels, clove buds and sage leaves.

The first thing I smell with this is fire, the scent of smoke.   Overall this scent is very light.  After that the scent of the herbs arrives, along with a hint of spice and orange, but very faintly.  The longer you wear it the more citrus it smells.  It reminds me of my grandma’s kitchen, her pantry actually.  It’s a conglomeration of things that all smell wonderful together, but hard to pick apart.

Season of the Witch

“When the Magick of turning leaves and darkeness begins, it it time to celebrate the witch that’s within .”

A dark spiced potion with wooded notes that give way to a haunting incense fragrance. A special blend in honor of the season and the witch in all of us.
Created with coriander, rose, cinnamon,lavender,frankincense, patchouli and black pepper essential oils, infused with golden amber resin, apples, patchouli leaves pepper corns , rose petals and lavender buds.

This is probably my favorite of the five.  I really like the coriander, which I can actually pick out.  The rose is very soft as is the lavender, which is a note I actually don’t care for at all.  This is definitely more of a spicy floral then a musk.

Chocolate Mystique

A strong drink of dark morning brew to awaken the mind and stir the gypsy soul.”

For centuries coffee and chocolate have been regarded as having magical ,holistic ,healing powers and are said to be natural aphrodisiacs when consumed.Both ingredients have been used in ancient rituals and religious practices and when blended together makes for a powerful mystic brew.

Here I have captured a bit of the gypsy brew in an infused perfume body oil creation that keeps with true gypsy ways of using only natural ingredients and oils, no artificial coloring or fragrance oils have been added.

Divine chocolate alchemy at its finest.This is a 1/3 oz roll on body perfume oil made by way of oil infusion which is the blending of herbs,fruits,resins,extracts and absolutes in quality oils of grape seed, jojoba,vegetable oils,and an addition of natural fragrance made with . Made with the natural chocolate scent of pure cocoa absolute,cocoa butter,essential oils in cardamom,sandalwood and vanilla, infused with cardamom seed and a touch of hand ground coffee . A scent so indulgent and rich one cannot help but to submit to the enticing aroma.

One word.  Starbucks.  This smells just like standing in line and waiting for a mocha.

Would I order from Midnight Gypsy Apothecary again? Yes!

✔ The scents were all very unique and well blended.

✘  Because it’s all natural, it doesn’t last all that long and it’s best to reapply it throughout the day.

✔ The prices are very affordable for the quality.

✔ The packaging is amazing!

Price: 5/5

Packaging: 5/5

Shipping: 5/5

Products: 4.5/5

Overall .87 /  5

Uncategorized

7 Responses to “Midnight Gypsy Apothacary – A Review”

  1. Wow, sounds right up my alley!

    I actually often struggle with fragrance oils; oftentimes despite how lovely they may smell initially, a few minutes in I end up with a headache. I’d much rather wear essential oil/extract/hydrosol-based perfume, despite less sillage and wear time. Also, I love herbs and essential oils, so sniffing out different notes is like a fun game for me 🙂

  2. I actually ordered from this store before because their body lotion doesn’t come with phenoxyethanol which, woe is me, I am sensitive to.

    If you like the dark packaging, I imagine you will like Tokyo Milk. It is very well packaged and dark.
    but the prices are outrageous, and it’s not ‘natural’ like these are.

  3. Thanks for the review! I was looking at this shop the other day, but couldn’t find a lot of reviews. Autumn Embers definitely sounds like my kind of thing.

  4. The natural ingredients are actually a huge plus for me (sensitivity, prone to headaches, yadda yadda yadda). Chocolate Mystique sounds divine…mmm, mocha. And looking at the shop, I don’t know what a Winter Gypsy is, but MGA’s description of it sounds like she’d smell pretty good.

  5. The packaging is so cute! None of the scents you got sound like my cup of tea but I’m looking forward to looking up their others 🙂

  6. Jill Duncan-Jack November 8, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Oh I want, nope, I need Raven Spells. I adore Sandalwood, its so sexy and with the other ingredients it sounds absolutely delicious!

  7. It all sounds absolutely divine, I’m a total fragrance junkie, and these sound like just the kind of scents I love to wear during the winter months.