Muse Minerals – A Review

Ordering

I found Muse via Heartsy.  Although I don’t check it everyday, when I did log in not only did I have 10$ in credit, but Muse was being featured.  I quickly polled some people and decided to try them out.  The voucher gave me 31$ to work with, so I took my time and browsed a bit and before I knew it I had gone over.  That is a fairy good sign these days for Etsy sellers!

The listings looked great.  They were well photographed.  I could tell that unlike this past weekend’s Hearty featured MMU seller, it was likely not wholesale or repackaged.  The images are very clear although many of the listings do NOT contain swatches, they do list share descriptions as well as a full list of ingredients.

One point of concern is that the ingredients list: preservative (a vegan-friendly blend to keep your eyeshadow bacteria free and fresh!).  That is pretty vague and nondescriptive of something I’m going to put on my eyes.  I decided to ask what exactly it was.  As of the posting of this review I have not gotten a response.  On the plus side they completely skip the usual MM spiel you get on Etsy of being ALL ORGANIC (impossible), COMPLETELY HAND MADE, SAFE, CURES ACNE, etc etc.

I ordered:

LOVE, ACTUALLY – mini palette and brush
ENVY ME – vegan friendly mineral eyeshadow
JE T’AIME PARIS – vegan friendly mineral eyeshadow gift set
CHERRY BLOSSOM – bright pink vegan friendly blush

Shipping

The total for shipping came to $3.40, which was very reasonable.  The first shipping notice and DC# I got didn’t do anything.  I sat and checked it and checked it and nothing came.  Muse is close enough I could actually drive and pick my order up and be home in under an hour, so of course I was concerned.  I sent off a convo and got a very nice reply and a replacement package was mailed.  When that arrived, one of my items was damaged.

Despite being very reasonable with the rates AND shipping a second box, it wasn’t wrapped very well.  The palette that broke was simply packed in a box inside the box with no padding.   I sent another convo asking how she suggested I clean it up, being in a palette I was was concerned I’d destroy and/or mess the other shades up.  She very kindly sent a replacement for it.  When my replacement arrived it was well wrapped in bubble wrap inside a bubble mailer.

Packaging

One of the things that I heard most about Muse was that their packaging was ADORABLE.  And it is.  The loose shadows came all together in a little box with a darling motif.  Inside everything was organized into printed cello bags and set on a bed of confetti paper.  The palette was inside a cello box inside a custom printed box.  Since that was ill-fated, the second was in a cello bag and then wrapped in bubble wrap.

Product

https://gothique.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=10363&action=edit

Each shade comes in a 5g jar with a sifter. (Approximately 1-1.5g of eyeshadow in each jar.)  The are labeled on the bottom with the company name, the shade, the weight, and the ingredients.  They have a solid black lid.

LOVE, ACTUALLY – mini palette and brush

Looking for a pretty set of neutrals to get you through the fall/winter? Check out this super cute palette that are beautiful for both work and play.

You get about the equivalent of a 3g jar (just shy of 1g) of carefully hand pressed into individual tins. You’ll get the following colors:

SPELLBOUND – a mauvey pink with gold sparkles
MISS MERLOT – a deep, plum purple with yellow undertones
CRUSHED COCONUT – a warm coconut brown with bronze undertones
THIS ISN’T ZIRCONIA – a soft, white-cream shade with sparkle and cooler (in shade!) than its sister, HALO

The palette measures approximately 2.5″ long x 1.5″ wide so its the perfect size to keep in your purse or clutch for touch-ups!

I really love getting pressed minerals.  After the Tonic flop I was glad to run across another company who does them.  This little kit is adorable, really.

It should be noted that my first one, the one that shattered, arrived in a box that was labeled with the ingredients and all that proper info, as well as a logo sticker on the top.  My replacement did not have either.

From left to right: Spellbound, Miss Merlot, Crushed Coconut, and This Isn’t Zirconia

I almost wonder if the pans were not left to dry long enough or if there was too much oil or pressing medium used.  It would explain why the one cracked so easily.  They also have a very oily texture, which are a little different then a creamy or dry one.  You can see in the swatches the shadows are very ‘metallic’ because of that.   You can also see in the picture above how several of the pans appear ‘lumpy’.  Perhaps the medium wasn’t blended well enough before it was pressed.

Nothing is ‘wrong’ with the palette, per se.  The colors are lovely and the little palette is practical!  They don’t seem to wear as long as the loose shadows did.  Crushed Coconut actually creased on me!

From left to right: Bridgette, Violet Femme, Doe a Dear, Halo, and Envy Me

Swatches from Etsy, for comparision

JE T’AIME PARIS – vegan friendly mineral eyeshadow gift set

A lovely set perfect for gift-giving to your favorite fashionista or yourself! Featuring Doe A Dear, Bridgette, and Violet Femme, wear them layered together or separate. Doe A Dear also makes a lovely blush. Feminine and girly, I absolutely love these colors!

Doe A Dear – A soft, true pink with a light sparkle
Bridgette – The middle ground between the other two shades, it sparkles with a cool, lilac color
Violet Femme – A deep purple shade that has a blue-silver undertone and has the most sparkle.

ENVY ME – vegan friendly mineral eyeshadow

This blend is more aqua-blue than oceans apart with less sparkle but still a fair amount of shimmer. With yellow undertones, this color is beautiful and bright on tan or fair skin. This can be worn dry and still be dramatic but when applied wet (or foiled), this color bursts with blue and green.

Because of the problems with my order I also received :

HALO – vegan friendly mineral eyeshadow

This eyeshadow is simply stunning. It creates a gorgeous, out-of-this-world “halo” on your eyes. A wonderful base shade with a lot of impact foiled or dry. Features a significant gold interference in a sheerer cream when applied dry. It goes dramatically opaque in a glow of gold when foiled.

I think the first thing I added to my cart was this trio.  I wanted it, very badly, I am a Francophone and the shades were lovely.  I’m going to go ahead and say that the swatches that are listed on the site are fairly accurate, which is something I’m looking for more and more recently.  Doe a Dear did not seem as pink as described to me, although it’s a nice shade.

I was happy with Envy Me, it’s a lovely tealy shade that’s rather soft.  It is a warm shade so it works really well with my skin tone and eye color and it wears well and blends nicely, as do all the shadows.

Halo took a bit to swatch, even though I did foil these.  I had to go over it a few times, it’s more sheer then I expected, although to it’s credit, it is noted as a ‘sheerer’ shade.

While the shades are not complex, they are clear.  The formula, although containing a ‘mystery’ ingredient, is nice and as I mentioned, wears well and didn’t crease or fade over a good primer.  It foiled well, so it’s not all filler or poorly formulated.

CHERRY BLOSSOM – bright pink vegan friendly blush

If you liked Hot to Trot on your eyes, you’ll love Cherry Blossom on your cheeks. A playful and fun shade that has slight yellow undertones and a pretty sparkle that will leave a feminine glow.

You will receive a 10g jar with a sifter and a mini buki brush.

Whenever I order from someone new now, I try to get a wider variety of products. In this case not just loose shades, but a presses palette and a blush. This shade was the obvious choice. I also really like how in the shade descriptions it’s noted what sort of complexion it might be suited for.

This blush is lovely, light and clear and with only a BIT of sparkle could be worn for an everyday daytime look easily but it builds up.  On my super-pale skin it looks oddly natural, which is sort of… odd.  I put it on, went and did something and came back and couldn’t tell if I had put it on or if I was just that pretty today, which of course I was not.

Would I order from by Muse Minerals again? Probably.

✔ I really like the packaging and the ‘feel’ of the shop.  It’s professional and thoughtful.

✔ The shades are very nice although not all that unique.

✔ The formula is very lovely and wears well.

✔  There is a lot of potential for growth.

Price: 5/5

Packaging: 5/5

Shipping: 3/5

Products: 4/5

Customer Service 4.5/5

Overall .25/5

ETA:

I got a reply regarding the preservative.

Its CAP-5, which is vegan-friendly from my understanding. 🙂

8 Responses to “Muse Minerals – A Review”

  1. I’m loving Envy Me!

  2. I am most impressed with how they replaced the palette for you, no questions asked. The packaging *IS* super cute. At this time have they told you what the preservative is?

  3. Eeee I ordered The Enchanted Forest set and Cherry Blossom blush, with my voucher! It hasn’t arrived yet, though. I liked how she specifically told me the blushes were safe for use on eyes!

    The Je T’aime Paris collection looks super cute. It looks like it goes PERFECTLY with Halo! I feel as though I may have missed out 😦 OH WELL maybe next time, if I like my goodies !

  4. Too bad they didn’t answer your question about the preservative. That is a very vague description for something people will be putting on their eyes.
    Otherwise, I like how they helped you with the damaged palette. Even if there’s nothing which interests me yet, their photos and product look well done.

    • I agree. Damage happens sometimes, and I’m glad that they were helpful, especially considering a Heartsy voucher was used. I’ve seen way too many companies pulling the “I’ll help you out once I deal with my actual paying customers” trip when things like this happen.

      I hope they eventually clarify what the preservative is, because I’d really like to try some of their shadows. I have a contact allergy with a preservative. It’s not a vegan preservative, but I’d still rather know exactly what it is for two reasons: one, because it may not be vegan (I’m not vegan, but I like for most of my makeup to be, and I want to know that things are labeled correctly), and two, if I have a reaction to something I need to KNOW what it is. I don’t want to just to go a doctor and tell them it’s “a preservative”.

  5. Love love love Muse ❤ And now I see a few more shades I need to grab, thanks for that 😛

  6. Great review! I love honest reviews. The loose shadows are lovely! I’m really digging Doe a Dear, and the blush! And I don’t even wear blush! I think it’s awesome when companies have pressed shadows, though I do find they are less pigmented than loose shadows.