It’s Friday, I’m in Love!

Hiatus

I’m extending my hiatus a couple of days into next week.  I have so much to get caught up on and deal with, but I’m motivated!  I have SO many amazing new posts to get to, I’m excited to get things finished so I can get back to swatches.

Giveaways

I’ve done some serious thinking about this the last week.  I had to dig into my budget to come up with more funds then I would have liked to replace a TON of ‘undeliverable’ packages from the post office and it got me thinking.  I’ve given away literally hundreds and hundreds of dollars worth of prizes in the last two years.  Most of which I paid for myself, including the shipping.  Things have happened that make this a difficult splurge now, considering so many of the prizes ‘never arrived’ and I’ve had to replace so many, probably needlessly.  I’d like to think my blog has more appeal then the promise of free things.  I will continue to have the occasional donated prize, but I won’t continue to purchase mass amounts of items to giveaway.  I’d rather use those funds to find new and amazing products and companies to review!

Coming Soon

I have so many amazing things lined up to post!

A mega swatch post from Morgana in which I review colors and compare formulas.

A gorgeous collection of swatches from Persephone.

New collection swatches from Geek Chic.

A review of Innocent Twisted.

Another GoT Style Diary as well as two winter/holiday themed ones.

 Your Turn

What have you been up to this week?

 

17 Responses to “It’s Friday, I’m in Love!”

  1. I’ve been working far too many hours. Sorry to hear about so many packages being lost 😦

  2. More reviews sound like a good replacement to me! Mmm…reviews.

  3. What happened with “The Links” section? Looks like something is lost there.

    I’m sorry to hear about the lost packages, must be a pain in the ass 😦 Have a nice weekend, Grey!

  4. Awww I’m sorry about the lost packages, so disappointing and awful to have to replace them all. I’ve always come to your blog for the reviews first, the giveaways were always just bonuses and never a real priority. Thank you for continuing to blog!

    This week has been finals week which I’m so glad to be done with! I’m going to be happy to enjoy the next several weeks stress free.

  5. I’m not that crazy about swatches, but bring on the reviews – I love your reviews 🙂 !

    Too bad that the packages were undeliverable in such a number 😦 .

  6. Amanda MacKenzie December 17, 2011 at 2:13 am

    Giveaways are neat and generous, but I love your reviews more. I’ve purchased a few things (and stayed away from a few companies) based on your reviews, so more of them would definitely be appreciated by this reader. 🙂

  7. That really sucks about the packages! Also, I agree with everybody else, your wonderful reviews are what brings me back to your blog time and time again.

  8. That is INSANE about the packages! I have had *one* package of the hundreds I’ve sent get damaged in delivery (or rather, it just showed up empty). That is just ridiculous what happened to yours.

    I don’t read your blog for giveaways – I find your posts very useful and interesting and I ENJOY coming here. I definitely think donated giveaways are the way to go.

    My week was full of work. It is such an adjustment from having ALL my time to myself to now having…3 hours? of free time. And I’m kinda starting to panic that I won’t finish my handmade Christmas gifts in time.

  9. I don’t read them for the giveaways; however, I do see them as a treat for us readers. I like your reviews most because they are so comprehensive and fair.

    That’s so odd about your packages getting lost in the mail or being undeliverable. Sorry about that; I know how much that sucks. Plus, the massive cutback at the USPS sure won’t be helping matters.

  10. I’ve lost several packages recently as well, all of which I had to replace out of pocket. The ones that didn’t get lost sometimes arrived (not damaged) COMPLETELY SHREDDED. Like, thick cardboard boxes waterlogged and torn. If you ship ANYTHING, make sure you NEVER mail cash or gift cards (write a cheque or use Paypal), and ALWAYS get insurance. ALWAYS. I’m making it a mandatory purchase for my business starting January. That way, USPS will be forced to replace the loss of goods. It doesn’t apply to certain types of stuff though, so look up the regulations.

    Although, I’m a little biased. I prefer reading reviews and seeing pics of new stuff. I don’t usually hang out for the giveaways. It’s a nice extra, but it isn’t what I read your blog for.

  11. I definitely watch you for the reviews, I almost never buy from an indie company unless you’ve reccomended them first.

    On Friday I made a dress^^.

  12. Argh, it’s a shame that your local P.O. is so shady (you would think they would deal with whomever’s causing the problems, since I know it’s been going on for awhile). However, I think that most of your readers come more for the reviews than the giveaways (at least I do!), so you shouldn’t worry about offering them less.

    I’ve been spending a lot of time with friends lately, though two of them left today for 3 weeks away, so I see a lot of sitting at home in my future. 😉

  13. I’ve been busy with three papers and wanted to stab my eyes out at some point. And I have been staring at USPS track and trace. >.>

    I like give aways, however I hardly ever join them because I don’t use the product, don’t have time to create a FOTD etc. I love that I won your Lady Grey give away, but I follow your blog because of the reviews and the style diaries. And I do believe most followers like to read about compagnies, no-go, holy grails and so on.

    About the repackiging: it’s sometimes pretty confusing. I don’t have anything to compare it with and there isn’t a list or something with obvious repackers. Would be nice if there was one.

  14. I’m going to be honest: I don’t normally participate in giveaways. It’s not because they’re not good (because they are) but because I usually skip over those posts in favor of the reviews and style diaries. I love your blog because of your written content and your opinions. Don’t feel bad about the giveaways, you can’t control the crappy things that happen with postal services and funds.

    This week in general: it was finals week at uni and I didn’t have any in-class final exams (YAY) but my mother-in-law had to go to the ER on Monday for heart-related issues so it’s been pretty busy this week.

  15. I think you’re an incredibly generous person with the giveaways but what keeps me coming back to your blog is your amazing reviews. =)

    I’m still recuperating & recovering from my surgery and last week was filled with doctor appointments in the west side – no fun. Hoping this week leading up to Christmas will be a lot better!

  16. Like everyone else has stated, we come for the content, not the contests. They’re nice but your funds will be better used to review nifty things that we can spend our funds on. Because of your reviews, I’ve tried some indy companies and love their products so much more than readily available commercial items.

    I’ve been working my way through Kat Richardson’s “Greywalker” books series that I’ve had on my to be read shelf forever. I’m kinda kicking myself for putting them off for so long since they are super awesome!

  17. You’re very generous to us with the many giveaways, and it’s very unfortunate things haven’t worked out. I do like giveaways even if I don’t enter them often; I only enter if I could see myself truly wanting the product and it being something I’d buy myself (otherwise, I leave it to someone who’d like it more than I would). Anyway, I agree with everyone above on how your reviews and content are the items which keep us coming back to your site.

    I attended a concert and a lunch this weekend. I caught up on TV and podcasts too.