Melisandre was a hipster.

Oh, my religion is so obscure,

you’ve probably never heard of it.

Killing people with swords is so mainstream.

 I use shadows.

The Inspiration

Melisandre is a beautiful woman with a heart-shaped face and red eyes. She always dressed in red. Great heat emanates from her body. She is full-figured with copper hair.[19] She always arms herself with numerous powders hidden in the many pockets of her red robes that make smokes with various powers, such as truth, lust, fear, and murder. She learned at an early age that the more effortless the sorcery appears, the more men fear the sorcerer, and so always tries to hide the difficulty of her magic. She keeps guards about her to send the message of power, but does not believe that she needs them, as R’hllor will protect her.

Melisandre is annoying.  Without giving away any spoilers, she wants to kill everyone because she’s a crazy zealot.  She’s so obscure I can’t help making fun of her. Hence the inspiration of this look!

The Makeup

Red shadow with this is a must.  Cue the amazing red tutorial from Lisa Eldridge.

For the red shadow, I chose Poison Poinsettia.  It’s such a gorgeous red that works with my skin tone and it’s easy to work with.

The PERFECT perfume for this is Diablo from TMTM.  If you’ve read the books, you know.

Diablo – The devil, indeed! Fiery cinnamon paired with blood red roses and incense.

The Accessories

The main piece I wanted for this was this huge red pearl bracelet with graduated sizes beads.  It’s big enough on it’s own that you don’t need to wear much else.  Originally I had bought some mini pearls to make a few accent bracelets, as you can see above, but when I was done, I realized I just didn’t need them.  I’m just wearing my usual spacers in my ears for this, nothing much more is needed.

I also found some red metallic polish (Reel HIm In from Orly)  that matched exactly.

If you wanted to really commit, you could use Manic Panic’s Pillarbox Red to emblazon your hair.

The Rest

Unlike previous Style Diaries, most of this look is in the clothes, rather then the accessories.  When I saw these red jeans, I had to have them.  They are Old Navy Saucy Red Rockstar Jeggins and they are amazing.  I actually had to get them in Talls, just so they were long enough, though.  I’m very tall.

In fact, the whole outfit is from Old Navy.  The sequin tank and cardigan I found on clearance.  I paired them with some oxfords, which I would honestly never wear, but they seemed to go with the hipster theme.  I’d stick with some Vans or ‘Verse.

8 Responses to “Melisandre was a hipster.”

  1. I absolutely adore your style diaries!

  2. The style diaries are the best! I totally agree with you – Melisandre as a hipster is spot on. :]

  3. Melisandre ❤

    I LOVE Diablo! My first TMTM scent and I'm in love ❤

  4. Hahaha, I just love your inspiration and your take on Melisandre 😀 !

    Around here Vans and ‘Verse are hipster, too, they would have worked for the theme 🙂 .

    And I adore red looks and Lisa Eldrigde – so few people dare to go there and I think it actually does work on a lot more people than one might think. I admire you for going there 🙂 .

  5. I love the red red red!

  6. I’m in love with that necklace! Must find those beads 🙂 I really want a full size of Diablo, I’m hoarding my sample lol!

  7. Ooo I love all the red!!!

  8. Red is my favorite color, well besides black. Love!!!